We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and good prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House of Cheung

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
House of Cheung
2460 E 71st St, Indianapolis, IN 46220-1310
317-253-9696
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #420 of 2,023 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Restaurant details
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Authentic and good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Food tasted fresh and the prices were very reasonable! The decor is creative and yes they could improve the service but it was not horrible. Our group of six went for dinner and out of five entrees, everyone agreed they were all great. Highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“worst service ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

maybe an ok carryout, the waitress forgot about us, late to the table, late with waters and drinks, no water refills, when I asked, she took my glass and never returned, had to get up pay ask for to go boxes and box it myself, the staff was seemed lost with 4 tables in the restaurant

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great service at first. Welcoming. However our waitress could not be found when it was time to get our check and take home boxes. If you pay with a credit card they use a machine that leaves you the choice of an 18% tip, 20% tip or 25% tip or "custom tip". However the custom tip option was protected and unable to be selected. Since I felt abandoned by the waitress I did not appreciate being forced to leave an 18% tip when I got 10% service. You could also select "no tip" but it was made clear if that option was chosen, the tip should then be left on the table. I never have cash. Moral of the story? Take cash for your tip IF you tip based on service. The food was very good. I had Almond Chicken. The chicken was tender and flavorful, it did not look strange as is the case with so many Chinese restaurants. Decent portion for the price. The egg drop soup was less than average. Thick. Bland. Relaxing atmosphere. The parking lot was full. I would go again. Check it out for yourself!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food selection and great quality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I started with an egg roll..very fresh and tasty. My mom got the egg drop soup and loved it. I ordered the pineapple chicken for the first time anywhere and thought it was great...tender white meat and good pineapple and onion. Other family members got the sweet and sour chicken, cashew chicken, and sesame seed chicken. It all tasted amazing. They put the sweet and sour sauce for the chicken separate so left overs wouldn't get soggy...very nice way to do it since we said we were taking some home. Very nice waitress and attentive...would go back again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Buffet - very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Lunch buffet- few items had over cooked (sat too long over the heat), but all items were refreshed at least every 15 minutes. The Hot & Sour soup was excellent. The vegetable egg roll was also excellent and were fresh: hot/steaming on inside and still crispy on outside. The Lo Mein noodles were flavorful despite being meatless.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Cheung also viewed

 

Been to House of Cheung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Cheung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.