We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Middle Eastern Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Baba's Cafe

Ali Baba's Cafe
115 W Market St, Indianapolis, IN 46204
(317) 632-1111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #453 of 2,023 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Great Middle Eastern Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

A group of us happened on Ali Baba's when we were looking for somewhere for lunch at a conference. I think everyone was very happy with their meal. I had chicken shawarma in a pita (the whole sandwich which was really 2 pitas), and it was very tasty and delicious. Prices were reasonable. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunch near the State House: Look no further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I ate here three times during my two day stay in Indianapolis, mostly because of its proximity to my work, but also because once you taste the hummus and pita it's impossible not to crave more. The service was not always fast or particularly friendly, but I went during off-hours and wanted to be left alone somewhere quiet with natural light, so it was perfect for me. I also highly recommend the tea and chicken schwarma sandwich.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philladelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique to downtown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

the gyro sandwich are nice, just wish the portions were bigger. They have also don't have hookah anymore here

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Spicy Gyro is fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Went here for first time yesterday. Great food at reasonable prices. Also very knowledgable staff. I had the whole gyro but next time might try half gyro lunch special. I will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, but overcharged”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stopped on a Saturday night. We ordered two meals which were good and served quickly. Our waitress was very friendly. The restaurant is a little "worn". There were four items on our check, two meals and two drinks. We were overcharged for two. Disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Baba's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ali Baba's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Baba's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.