We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shapiro's Delicatessen

Shapiro's Delicatessen
808 S Meridian St, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1335
317-631-4041
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 2,029 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Kosher
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Canton, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Must try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is an old-school style deli. The sandwiches are awesome ... especially try the pastrami on rye, mustard, & swiss. It is a meal unto itself. also try mac & cheese, deviled eggs, and cold slaw. I am in Indy often and always eat at Shapiro's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    124
    31
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good Homestyle Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I am really a fan of this food. It's totally cafeteria style, stand in line with a tray but then sit down and enjoy. So you can definitely go casual here.

I've tried the meatloaf and the cabbage roll and love them both. Sides are very good also.

I purchased a Rhubarb pie and frankly I sort of choked a bit on the price $18.00. It was very good. A week later I ran in and picked up an Apple. Their crust is good and it's hard to find that.

My husband was leary of going but I convinced him to try. He was not disappointed. The sandwich he had he totally enjoyed and there was enough to have a snack later that evening.

We are fans!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Outstanding Sandwiches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very old school deli - great vibe and the food lives up to the lore. Went with a group of colleagues and ordered a pastrami sandwich. Sadly they did not have that (at 12:30??), so I went with the brisket sandwich and mac and chesse. Colleagues ordered the Rueben, which I would have picked instead, but I can always get back to Indy each quarter. Cool new Coca-Cola machines are there where you can make your own blend - I tried Coke Zero with Vanilla and Cherry. Gives the normal deli Doc Brown's a run for his money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The corn beef on rye is excellent! They have bagels, pies, breads, you name it. Any of the food you get at Shapiro's will be good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unexpected In Indy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Mile high sandwiches made from freshly carved meats and super fresh bread. Matzoh ball soup like grandma used to make. Smooth creamy and surprisingly light carrot cheesecake. All were outstanding. Not too crowded when we arrived at 11am but I net the joint is jumping a little later in the lunch hour. Off street parking too. Don't miss it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shapiro's Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Shapiro's Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shapiro's Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.