We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Islands Restaurant INC

Greek Islands Restaurant INC
906 S Meridian St, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1337
317-636-0700
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Greek Islands Restaurant INC is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 1,921 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: McCarty
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love the place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We ran out for a nice Greek meal and decided to try a new place so we stopped here. We were thrilled! The food was really good and the service was great and we loved that the owner came over and talked to us to make sure we were happy. I can't wait to take my family here. We will certainly come back and highly recommend this restaurant!! Family run and very cozy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    46
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joshua, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always Dependable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Greek Islands has been a must stop over the last 8 years and I can't believe I have never put them on Trip Advisor.

This family owned and operated Restaurant will deliver from Lunch to Dinner I have never been unhappy with my food or experience. If you get on their Facebook and live in Indy you can learn of their special wine tastings as well as belly dancing nights, but that does not diminish from the food that comes out of the kitchen it is all hand prepared, nothing prepackaged and everything has always been simply wonderful.

Its a great Lunch and Dinner stop for yourself, friends, family and if you call ahead even for a large business dinner.

Never a problem.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just Okay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We eat out a lot and in my opinion this was overpriced. The flaming cheese was good, the chicken gyros have what looks like sliced chicken "bologna", needless to say it was 15$ my friend wasted :( my pasta was good. The grape leaves were good, not great. Overall, everything was mediocre and our bill for 5 of us was @$100...and that was NO alcohol...disappointing

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A delightful Greek cuisine experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a small quaint little place just a few block south of Lucas Oil Stadium. If you like Greek cuisine this is the real deal. The food my wife and I experienced on our two visits was very good. The atmosphere very comfortable and the service very friendly and acceptable.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places in Indy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The owners treat you like part of their family. It's a very small place, but full of fabulous food and a great atmosphere. They have a wonderful gluten-free menu and understand the importance of not cross contaminating the GF food. They always take time to to make sure that our meal is great. The gluten-free Saganaki is usually available, but if you definitely want to try it, make sure you call ahead and let them know. The pork and chicken souvlaki is always wonderful. The meat melts in your mouth!

Husband always looks forward to the rice pudding for dessert. There is not a gluten-free bread substitute so you can take your own crackers/bread. If you don't mind they can serve your hummus with a side of cucumbers that are nice for dipping.

The non gluten-free items come with a side of pita bread that is always fresh and wonderful. The florini's are also a must try appetizer for the non gluten free or gluten-free diner!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Islands Restaurant INC also viewed

 

Been to Greek Islands Restaurant INC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Islands Restaurant INC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.