We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of $ for average entertainment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mystery Cafe

Mystery Cafe
231 S College Av, Indianapolis, IN 46202
+1 317-684-0668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,053 of 2,028 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $47 - $47
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Description: All shows are about a fictitious group of people present for some reason or other when murder interrupts their proceedings. When you arrive the actors already in character and costume show you to your seats, responding to you as if you to where part of the make believe world we have created for the night.Volunteers are chosen out of the audience to play minor characters in the story, just stand up at your chair and read your lines. No stage, the show in done right inside the banquest room of a down town restaurant. Dinner is served as part of the show. After act I soup is served; after act II salad; act III you have a choice between 4 courses and Ice cream plus hot bread is served with the soup and salad,At the end of act III we ask you to make a guess whodunit in act IV we discover who that despicable killer is. After the show we present a prize for the person who best answered the question of who dunnit and another prize for the person who hammed it up the most I mean the best actor or actress out of the audience.
Champaign, Illinois
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A lot of $ for average entertainment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Milano inn has very good Italian food. The mystery cafe is on the second floor of the Milano Inn, and so, the food served is good. but the food is slow coming between acts, and the acts are not that gripping, (only two paid actors). The rest of the lines of the 2 1/2 hour play are performed by the audience. Some are too quiet to hear, some ok, and some amazing. So, the entertainment is dependent on who takes the bit parts and how much alcohol has been consumed. Drinks are not included in the $47 price, plus add the tip for the Milano staff and you have dropped quite a bit of cash for a mediocre performance and a sloooooow meal.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tipton, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not worth it!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was totally not what we expected. The food was ok, service was good. Play was no where near what we expected it to be. Only 2 people as main characters. Expected more 'realistic' scenery. Most of the 'actors' were audience, which was ok but expected more main characters than 2. Would totally not go again. Would not recommend to anyone. Extremely disappointing:(

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connersville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun Place To Go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My daughter and I visited the Mystery Café recently and enjoyed it tremendously! The Italian dinner was delicious and the play was fun. The service was excellent and the Milano Inn is very nice. The only regret is that we did not volunteer to read one of the parts in the play...but next time we definitely will.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was such a fun place to go. The actors where great. The food was fabulous and had great flavor. Servers were nice and attentive. Plenty of room to move around and the acoustics are good. Place was clean and nicely decorated. Plenty of parking. You cannot go wrong coming to the best murder mystery dinner in Indiana!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Show is elementary school acting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The show is elementary school acting. Long time between your 4 course entrees. Show lacking in entertainment. Lots of audience interaction as the audience are the actors, with only 2 of their own actors. Actors roam around 4 long tables, it s more of a roaming circus than a play. Food very bland and mediorce. Dont waste your money on this one. We will never be back!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mystery Cafe also viewed

 
 

Been to Mystery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.