We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hot Chocolate Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolate Cafe

Chocolate Cafe
20 N Meridian St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3007 (Downtown Indianapolis)
(317) 951-4816
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 2,023 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Prospect, KY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Hot Chocolate Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went to Monument Circle for a tour and we were to meet at a place on the circle called Chocolate Cafe. I didn't even go in but my friend got a hot chocolate. I tasted it and it was "to die for". It tasted so rich and smooth and like dark chocolate. The tour director said that the ice cream was the best in Indy. A local ought to know. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Deliscious Ice Cream - Beware of the Malt Ball”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

They had a good variety of icecream flavors and choice of cones or bowls. The ice cream was very good although neither of us knew a malt ball was put in the ice cream so that was a bit of a surprise when I found mine then my friend had one shortly after. They also had a good selection of coffee and chocolates that looked very tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Excellent Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Monument Circle location is terrific. A wonderful place to sit and enjoy dessert on warm summer evenings. The ice cream was very good. Not inexpensive, but the portions are generous. We were surprised to find candy colored balls in the bottom of our ice cream...confusing at first, but they turned out to be a delicious surprise.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better in other cities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

SB Chocolate Company runs a few of these. You can always count on good chocolate and they are generous with samples. The Indy store seems a little run down and not well laid out. They have three counters (chocolate, drinks, and ice cream), plus a 4th for frozen yogurt. Two separate purchases will be necessary if you want ice cream and your companion wants frozen yogurt - it's around the corner.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“well, if you really like chocolate...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

... you're not going to be impressed. Nice vibe, good service, nice location at the circle, but....the selection and 'level' of chocolate is not at all impressive. The basics of chocolate were just OK....It not too hard to do better with *good* prepackage chocolate and very little dark chocolate as I recall and very little chocolate nut bark.

Some of the reviews were very happy with other confectionary items (frozen yogurt, cheese cake, fondue (?),etc)..which I wasnt there for. So thats the limit of this review, I realize.

But for real chocolate lovers...no way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Chocolate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chocolate Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.