We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste you money.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amici's Downtown Italian

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Amici's Downtown Italian
601 E New York St, Indianapolis, IN 46202-3706
(317) 634-0440
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #944 of 1,993 restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations
Carlisle, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste you money.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The building is old and paint peeling with an interior that reminds you more of a Mexican restaurant. The entire place needs cleaned. The food was just "OK" but nothing special. We won't be back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

30% Recommend
    4
    8
    9
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Italian restaurant in a historic district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I am puzzled by some of the reviews that have been posted here. Some complain because a Living Social certificate for two entrees is not good for a pizza, which should be obvious. Just read the certificate—they will certainly honor it as written, but no, they will not give you a different deal from the one you bought. Others complained about the old, dirty building. That’s amazing, since a big part of the charm of Amici’s is the historic building, which I believe is from the late 1860s. It’s in a historic neighborhood—Lockerbie Square--with many homes built in that same era. If you don’t want what one review calls a “run-down” building, try one of the chain restaurants in a new building, perhaps with fake Roman ruins and art work. If so, Amici’s is not for you. If you want corporate pseudo-Italian food, Olive Garden does a great job of producing what you might call “Italian fusion”, and the price is incredible (as is the fat content). Amici’s is not Olive Garden, nor does it claim to be. Amici’s is a delightful neighborhood Italian restaurant with great service, authentic Italian food (the owner IS Italian, not General Foods) and incredibly friendly staff. If you are a repeat customer, they will remember your name. Try that at Olive Garden! The price is pretty standard for similar restaurants, although the servings are a bit smaller than some of the competitors. If you are price sensitive, be sure to read the menu before ordering, because you may experience some unexpected (but nominal) charges, for example, for dipping oil for the bread, or for a second serving of the otherwise complimentary bread. That’s atypical, since other but at least it is clearly spelled out on the menu. My only reservation is that the menu is pretty limited, so customers will not have the range of options that are available at the larger chains. That’s really a problem only for regular customers who would like to try something different from the last few visits. As an aside, rating various categories was difficult. The food is delicious, but I rated it only *** because of the very limited (and relatively unchanging menu). I rated atmosphere as a ***** because of the historic building. If you want a restaurant with mountain or ocean view, than this is a *,

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OK but nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

This is a decade old place in a house that is a fire trap. The service was fine, the portions average and the taste OK. The price was relatively high. We had a host of menu selections.
Would not go back, other choices better

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Great atmosphere, food and service. Just love the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012 via mobile

I had a living social voucher for $35 and this place ask you to order two meals not a pizza to share bc they charge you for everything and you will definitely go over your voucher so be prepared to pay out of pocket. Being Italian I hate giving Italian places a bad review but this place deserves one. It's costly the food isn't worthy of the title Italian the place is horribly rundown and filthy. I like that it's in a historic part of Indy but that's the extent of its charm. I will not be going back to this hole. Indianapolis has way to many far superior Italian restaurants to go to. Chef Boiardi (Boy ar dee) is five star compared to this place. Please spare your taste buds from this place.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
echeflive, Owner at Amici's Downtown Italian, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Sounds like you had a voucher for a discount towards two entrees but you tried to order a pizza instead. Next time use the voucher for the entrees like to the deal was supposed to include and I think you will be much happier. Amici's is a historic restaurant , and being 150 years old so it might not look new and shiny but definitely not dirty. I regret that you arent satisfied but we do consider Amici's food and atmosphere a wonderful experience. Next time try the Chicken Boticelli or the homemade Lasagna with Italian sausage . We make homemade Ice cream and serve a great tiramisu also. If you are thinking about comeing to Amici's and are on a budget check out our website for two for one specials and avoid buying a coupon. I am Italian and am proud to call this place authentic Italian!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amici's Downtown Italian also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Amici's Downtown Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amici's Downtown Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.