We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic omelets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Patachou

Cafe Patachou
4911 N Pennsylvania St, Indianapolis, IN 46205-1034
(317) 925-2823
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 2,023 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Portage, Indiana
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic omelets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was recently in town for business and pleasure - I had the pleasure of meeting a long time friend and she took me to Patachou for breakfast. It was very relaxed, seat yourself, and be at home. The food was so good! I thought my omelet was great and just need more cheese but cheese is my thing, trust me, it was magnificent without it I only prefer more, ha ha! Our server was very personable and helpful. The only real flaw I could tell you about is the entire coffee station. You have to go get your own coffee, which is very coffeehouse style however, not my cup of tea or coffee if you will. It would have been better for them to give you a carafe for your table since the station was in the middle of the dining room. Beyond that strange quirk, everything was worthy of a first or second visit. Next time my sweetheart will be in tow and maybe I'll ask about that carafe.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    59
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Another great breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Sweet or savory - we enjoyed our choices. It is always packed and we know why. Breakfast was lovely. The fruit is delicious - the bread for toast is substantial. Yummy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison WI
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

popular and crowded, this is a place the locals all come to for weekend brunch. Great omelettes and they are known for their "broken yolk" egg sandwiches as well. Locally owned, and many food items are locally sourced. I thought the service was excellent as well -- fast and friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Central Indiana
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Trendy Breakfast place close to Butler University”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stopped here for breakfast. Although we thought it was a bit pricey, ($15 each), it was very good. They use lots of locally grown and healthy items. I had the omelette of the day and my wife enjoyed the runny egg sandwich on sour dough bread. It's very trendy and a bit noisy, but we'd go back if we were in the neighborhood.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Foo Foo Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I love that you get your own coffee. If your cup is empty, get some more. Good first step. I had the french toast. What ever happened to white bread with egg coating and syrup? This round pound of some type of foo foo bread had nuts all over it which got stuck in my dentures all day. And, they had some type of runny egg yolk sandwhich on the menu, which I did not want to go near. My suggestion: dial it down a notch and serve American Breakfast. People were friendly, but I missed the hotcakes and sausage from the McDonalds that used to be in the Hyatt.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Patachou also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Cafe Patachou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Patachou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.