We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Date Nite Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rick's Cafe Boatyard

Rick's Cafe Boatyard
4050 Dandy Trail, Indianapolis, IN 46254-9741
(317) 290-9300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rick's Cafe Boatyard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #157 of 1,990 restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 38th Street
Avon, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Date Nite Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had good drinks, great service and the best pork shank meal ever. It just fell of the bone. It was so large that we took half of it home.Good music and a beautiful view topped of the night as a home run.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    40
    45
    22
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great View, Grody Food, Gastly Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Rick's has been around for a long time, and based on my recent visit, they have a well-deserved reputation for being inconsistent. The view is outstanding, especially for landlocked Indianapolis, and the large windows and high ceilings let natural light fill the dining room. Live jazz continues to be a highlight on weekends, but not on Sunday nights during football season, sadly.

Yet more sadly, the food was poor and the service was worse. The bread was quite good, and we hoped our meals would be just as excellent. So how can two entree platters served without the entree be described? Missing something, for certain. Unappetizing, to be sure. And our difficulty in getting the attention of the wait staff? Daunting, discouraging, and disappointing.

When we finally received the actual entrees, they were cold, not well cooked. Once more our server disappeared, only to return several minutes later to ask about dessert.

If you visit this restaurant on a "good" day, your experience might be outstanding. But if the parking lot is fairly empty, turn around and head back east down 38th Street to Red Lobster. Or Dairy Queen. Or Taco Bell.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wow. Great food, great service, great view, great jazz. Perfect evening. The crowd was eclectic and the energy was high. Saturday night is not for quiet conversation, because Rick's will be full and everyone will be having a good time. We did.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Won't Go Back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

People are extremely rude, did not even stay to eat. This use to be such a fun place to go, even if you were old, but not anymore...don't even sit on the deck and enjoy the water, not sure why they have.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great location, on Eagle Creek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The food and service are excellent, and the view of the lake is a nice break in a land-locked city. Even the inside seating provides a great view, and on a warm day, the patio is hard to beat. Lunch prices are quite reasonable, although dinner is pricey (although there are good coupon specials/dining certificates available on a regular basis). Clearly you are paying for ambiance. I would pay their luncheon prices any time, but I would hesitate to pay the regular price for dinner. Those prices put it in pretty elite company. That was my only reason for not giving Rick's a perfect rating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick's Cafe Boatyard also viewed

 

Been to Rick's Cafe Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rick's Cafe Boatyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.