We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanaire Seafood Room

Oceanaire Seafood Room
30 S Meridian St, Ste 100, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)
317-955-2277
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Oceanaire Seafood Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #130 of 2,080 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Description: As sleek as a 1930s ocean liner, yet as relaxed as a dinner on the shore, the Oceanaire provides the perfect setting to enjoy Ultra-Fresh seafood, flown in daily from around the world. Sip a Sidecar in the lounge, sidle up to the oyster bar, or kick back in a horseshoe booth before diving into a sea of Ultra-Fresh fish, including steak-cut Alaskan halibut, seasonal favorites like fresh Copper River salmon or hard-to-find delicacies like true Dover sole or bluefin tuna. Our daily-printed menu will guide you, a wine list as deep as the sea will seduce you, and the world's freshest seafood awaits you at the Oceanaire.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Arrogant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We visited with a group of ten. From start we were given the feeling we should to be greatful to be let in. Waited at the bar, where its a struggle to get your drinks. No possibility to transfer drink to diner tab.
Poor seating. Of our ten diners 2 were not accetable. The swordfish tasted like cardboard. A steak was burned but too red inside. The answer: the chef says it is good and according our standard. I eat swordfish around the world. This was the worst ever. So if the chef tells me I got it wrong, I know I got one thing wrong: the place to eat. Never again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    67
    45
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Delicious, but small portions...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This place is definitely classy, and is located right in the heart of downtown Indy. Understandably, the prices are high, especially since they fly the fish in each day.

The swordfish was awesome! It was truly cooked to perfection, with each bite almost melting in my mouth.

I was a bit disappointed with the portion size, though. A $35 fish gets you just that... a piece of fish. And the sides that are "family-style" will only serve one 18-35 year-old man, so be prepared to shell out the cash if you are hungry.

The service is really top-notch. Our waiter was incredibly attentive, patient, and very knowledgeable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is not the cheapest, but if you like good seafood, you can't go wrong with this place. Has place for bar seating, but also good for business dinners or a romantic date. Service was good & everyone was friendly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Superb Seafood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a great place for fresh, inventive seafood dishes. They also have a very extensive wine list to choose from. It is quite expensive, but if you looking for a special dining experience this is a good choice. Had the sole, and it was pretty good. But I tried my husbands tuna steak, and was instantly jealous. That is the dish to have!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not bad considering there is no ocean for a thousand miles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have been here twice and liked the food enough to return. It is a bit on the expensive side for the portion size, about 100/pp with wine. I had the tuna seared raw in their wasabi and soy sauce and it was excellent just a bit small. The service was great (thanks Murph) and the booths are nice and comfortable. There are not too many higher end options for dining in downtown Indy so this place should be on your list if you plan to be in Indy for more than a couple nights. The tables upstairs offer a little quieter setting and there is a nice private dinning room up there for larger groups.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceanaire Seafood Room also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Oceanaire Seafood Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanaire Seafood Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.