We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must go to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Elmo Steak House

St. Elmo Steak House
127 S. Illinois, Indianapolis, IN 46225 (Downtown Indianapolis)
(317) 635-0636
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
St. Elmo Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 2,080 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Cross street: Maryland
Woodland Hills,CA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A must go to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Friends took us to the restaurant, since we were in town for just one night. The service was impeccable, the ambiance is great and the food is brilliant. My husband was in heaven with his filet mignon. I don't eat meat, but they had a selection of a few seafood dishes. My seared tuna was fantastic. We shared the shrimp cocktail. I am not big on shrimp, but theirs is amazing and the sauce was unbelievable. The wine selection is very good too. Would love to go back if ever in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    852
    310
    138
    52
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A gem on Sundays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

From their deservedly-famous, highly potent shrimp cocktails to their mouth-watering grilled steak to the luscious cheesecake, St. Elmos is among my most favorite steak houses. Service is always impeccable, and it just has that classic steakhouse vibe. And if you're looking for their fabulous food at a great price, check out their Sunday 3-course special, if it's still in effect when you plan your visit.

And talk about great service... I absentmindedly left my credit card behind. Our excellent waiter ran out front, across the street, and tracked me down at the parking lot to return it. A real WOW experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over priced and over rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I planned a long week end in Indianapolis and on Friday 11/29 ate at St. Elmo's. We started with their supposedly famous shrimp cocktail - the shrimp were good quality, but the sauce was lacking flavor and was essentially just horseradish. The waiter brought the wrong bottle of wine (fortunately I checked before he opened it). The waiter was pushing the bone in cowboy ribeye and my wife decided to try it - we enjoy good steaks medium to medium rare - her steak was overly marbled, raw, and greasy tasting. My strip steak was just OK. My recommendation is to skip this place and take your business elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Do not miss the experience of dining at an Indianapolis landmark restaurant. Everything form the overall atmosphere to the service is excellent. The steaks are exceptional and their signature Shrimp Cocktail is not to be missed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food but pricey. Watch out for the shrimp cocktail!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a steakhouse so steak is probably your best bet, although I am not really a steak lover. Everyone who goes there almost always orders their signature hors d'oeuvre - shrimp cocktail. Some times a local will take someone new and not warn them before they take a big bite of the of the cocktail sauce. If you have blocked sinuses before eating the sauce - you won't after - guaranteed. The atmosphere is a typical upscale steakhouse. St. Elmo's is a must visit on your trip to Indy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Elmo Steak House also viewed

 

Been to St. Elmo Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Elmo Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.