We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Elmo Steak House

St. Elmo Steak House
127 S. Illinois, Indianapolis, IN 46225 (Downtown Indianapolis)
(317) 635-0636
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
St. Elmo Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 2,080 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Cross street: Maryland
Indianapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Steak Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

For those who love an old-fashioned New York style steak rerstaurant, this is for you. The building is old with a beautiful long bar, and the waiters are usually older experienced men wearing aprons. St. Elmo is famous for its shrimp coctail. Network sportscasters often mention on air eating at St. Elmo and the shrimp cocktail. You get nice jumbo shrimp, but it's the sauce that makes the day. It is made with fresh horse radish on site daily. Highly recommend. The steaks are excellent and the portions are hefty. Certainly not inexpensive, but a place to go for a special occasion or just the new experience. Parking in the Circle Center Mall is reasonable and plentiful. One drawback. The main dining room is very, very loud. especially in the evening with the bigger dinner crowds. Better acoustic planning is needed. Not the place to go if you're looking for a quiet, romantic dinner. Otherwise, a great ambience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    850
    310
    138
    52
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Outstanding Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you are with a large group (20), be sure to request the private wine room. The shrimp cocktail is outstanding with very large shrimp. Each of the meals were excellent and large portions. The wait staff were outstanding. If you like cheese cake, you must order this dessert. It is smooth and wonderful. This is a must do in Indianapolis.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“All of our expectations were exceeded!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Our dinner started with the world famous shrimp cocktail which was amazing! We opted for the dry aged Kansas City strip that melted in our mouth and was accompanied by the orgasmic twice baked potato!! Our server was Kirk who was very knowledgeable and attentive! A++

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ammmazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Having traveled to Indianapolis a few times, we thought we had to try St.Elmos at least once. Well we sure weren't disappointed. Best shrimp cocktails ever, excellent steaks and excellent cheesecake. The service was top notch, the atmosphere was wonderful and the food was unbeatable. This is going to be a definite night out everytime we are in Indianapolis from now on.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Never a disappointment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Our working group had a dinner in their private dinning room earlier this week. The wait staff were superb - being very attentive, while not being intrusive. The meal was excellent. For those who are going for the first time, their signature shrimp cocktail is a must! They prepare some of the best steaks I've ever had!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Elmo Steak House also viewed

 

Been to St. Elmo Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Elmo Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.