We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great martinis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corner Wine Bar

Corner Wine Bar
6331 Guilford Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46220-1709
317-255-5159
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Corner Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #241 of 2,023 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Westfield Blvd.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great martinis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had dinner here one evening mid-week. Not too crowded. They have a nice beer selection and the bartenders make really good martinis. We had the chickpeas as appetizers. They saute the chickpeas in olive oil and then flavor them with spices. Unusual and delicious and well worth trying. I had a lamb burger sandwich and my husband had a beef burger. Both were cooked to our specifications and tasted great. Our server was very helpful in describing menu items. We like the atmosphere in the restaurant. It's cozy and intimate.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere...Disappointing Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had talked about trying the Corner Wine Bar for a while; and during the recent art event in Broad Ripple, we decided to give it a try. We sat outside which was a great choice because it was a balmy beautiful evening. The waitress was friendly and chose a lovely bottle of wine for us for $20.

However, the food was not so good. The gazpacho which is always one of my favorites was way too spicy and very chunky with lot of onions. When I mentioned that to the waitress she replied that most people don't finish it because it is too spicy??? Where's the feedback loop to the chef?. We shared a chicken pasta dish. The chicken was just barely cooked and the dish was served luke warm when we got it. Just didn't hit the spot for us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIANAPOLIS, IN
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Everything perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Corner Wine Bar has been a Broad Ripple staple for years. It could pass for a small bistro in Europe, with dark woods and outside sidewalk seating. On this visit my spouse and I both ordered from the $19.95 prix fixe menu and we were both more than pleased with our selections. I had a 6 ounce filet that came with fingerling potatoes and asparagus. The steak was cooked properly to order and was sufficiently tender. My spouse had chicken breasts in a tarragon cream sauce that came with snow peas and a carrot souffle. While everything was delicious, the carrot souffle was the standout suprise of the evening. It was sweet enough to have served as dessert, and I don't even like carrot cake. The meals also came with tossed salads and desert. My spouse had cheesecake topped with caramel sauce and I had the ice box lime pie. The lime pie was like a whipped key lime pie with the perfect balance of tart and sweet...so good. Our server was prompt, efficient, and friendly. When I requested a side of chimichurri for my steak (I saw it listed for another menu item) he not only complied but relayed a question from the chef to confirm if I wanted the steak prepared as usual with butter. The service, the food, the ambiance, and the value all came together for one of the most pleaseing dinners out we've had in a long time. High recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A touch of NYC in Indy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Had the feel of a unique NYC restaurant. Great local food in the trendy Broad Ripple neighborhood. While street parking has meters, they take credit cards. Nice outdoor seating area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food & wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This small Broad Ripple eatery has wonderful food & offers a good bottle of wine, chosen by the server, for $20. We requested red & told our server what we liked. She chose a great bottle of wine to compliment our meal. I ordered the Caesar salad with salmon & requested the salmon blackened. It was extraordinary.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Corner Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corner Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.