We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yats on College

Yats on College
5363 N College Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46220-3141
317-253-8817
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 2,029 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Cozy and Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Cozy atmosphere and delicious Cajun food. Prices are very affordable (we spent about $7 each person) and the portions are huge. They offer samples, and the staff members are really nice. Location is close to fresh food market - another place to check out!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    38
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“piping hot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Ate here with my eight yr old. If I lived in Indy I would eat here all the time. They don't have a children's menu but they were so very helpful with info (what is or isn't spicy). They kept giving us samples of items we asked about. I went with a vegetarian item with a little spice to it, B&B was corn and black beans over rice. I was famished and cleaned my plate with a slice of bread left over. My son had the chili mac (I think that's what it was called). His dish had crawdad tails in a sauce over rice. He liked his but had leftovers. They only have fountain drinks for soda, I think some Abita rootbeer or something might make that more fun. We loved the toffee cookie and pralines.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superior Service and Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Delicious AUTHENTIC Cajun/Creole cuisine at a reasonable price. (Prices have increased recently...BOO!)
Portions are huge! Staff is always very helpful and friendly. Joe is usually around and is so sweet.
I LOVE THIS JOINT! Their gumbo is to die for!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stopped by for lunch the other day. The selection was not as varied as usual. The quality just seems to be slipping. No wonder, look at their Facebook page, all they post about is all their new stores. They need to get back to focusing on the quality of the meals and less about rolling in the cash. Too bad, this used to be a 'go to' place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Omg I am sssssssooooo happy we have this eatery in greenwood
It can't be beat, great food, love the staff, love the clientele (wish some would lose some weight) but seriously value and ambience can't be beat GO EAT THERE NOW :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yats on College also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Yats on College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yats on College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.