We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Indy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura Japanese Restaurant

Sakura Japanese Restaurant
7201 N Keystone Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46240-3243
317-259-4171
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 2,029 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Californian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Best in Indy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Good food. Reasonable prices. More than adequate service, At lunch, the bento boxes are a particularly good deal.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Indy's Finest Sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Have been going to this restaurant for over 15 years and the menu, while still very similar to years past, offers a wide variety and the finest sushi and Japanese food in the Midwest. Best item on the menu is their Soft Shell Crab roll. Other favorites are the Katsudon (breaded pork cutlet over rice) and the meat/cheese appetizer. Best to go early for dinner (before 6pm) or you will wait at least 1+ hour to get a seat/table since the place is rather small. Prices are very reasonable for the quality of food being served.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“My wife love it!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I'm not a Japanese food love. I don't eat raw fish. But the soft shell crab that everyone raving about in tripadvisor does taste good. My main order is teriyaki fish + tempura lunch bento set. I don't really like the teriyaki fish. I think teriyaki chicken will be better.

We came before 12noon. It quickly fill up after noon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Very authentic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We really enjoyed visiting Sakura during the lunch hour. We ordered a lunch special and extra rolls that came with a ton of food for a very reasonable price. We are not sushi gurus, but for our tastes, the rolls were large and delicious, and many were between $4 and $8 for 6 rolls.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Japanese lunches and dinners.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Sakura was introduced to us by a visiting Japanese scientist over 20 years ago. He knew what to expect in good Japanese cooking. Not a fancy place, but food is great. Their chirashi is my favorite. Also other good sushi, sashimi, teriyaki, noodles, and tempura dishes. This is one of our two favorite restaurants in Indianapolis area. Often very busy in evening, so service may be bit slower then. AND, like many Asian restaurants, Sakura is not noisy, but, rather may have soft music and of course, the regular "dining noise". The staff is there to serve you, which they do well. If you want to be entertained and served mediocre food, go somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.