We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Alexander to your Saves list
The Alexander
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 S. Delaware Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dolce Summer Escape
Ranked #6 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NYC
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Wow is all I can say. We tripped upon this gem when searching the internet for a place to stay for a swim meet of our daughters'. I was very impressed at the value for what we received. The staff could not have been more professional, helpful or generous in every way. We stayed in the two bedroom California King Suite and it was perfect for our Mother daughter weekend. The finishes were beautiful and modern, the space generous and the lobby impressive. The recommendations for dining were excellent. We enjoyed every minute of our stay.

We just booked again for next year and would never stay anywhere else when coming to Indianapolis.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the stadium. Its quiet and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Tricia J.,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope your daughter did well at her swim meet! We certainly appreciate you choosing The Alexander for your mother and daughter weekend. It is absolutely our pleasure to ensure that you have a positive and engaging experience. Sounds like we will be seeing you again next year!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    90
    31
    17
    14
See reviews for
61
150
13
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Very convenient. Was able to park the car, board shuttle to ceremory location and then return for the wedding reception. Made for a very enjoyable wedding weekend. Rooms were clean and fresh. Whole hotel was fresh and clean. All employees that I came in contact with were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Joanne S.,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel during your visit for a wedding. Thank you for choosing The Alexander and we do hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We recently stayed here on a whim. What a great find! From the staff to the room everything was fantastic! The proximity to the circle was an easy walk. I would (& have) recommended this hotel to my friends. I loved the outside patio area & bar, very refreshing. The aroma in the hotel was lovely. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Jan H.,

Thank you so much for choosing The Alexander for your visit to Indianapolis. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the staff and overall room accommodations. On behalf of the hotel, we appreciate your business, and hope to have you back with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed at the Alexander for a wedding. The staff were very attentive to details and did a magnificent job preparing the hall. The hotel was close to many attractions and night life. After a long day and dancing the night away the bed and room was very comfortable! Friendly and helpful staff. Can't wait to book another visit to the Alexander!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Michelle B.,

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are happy to hear that everything went well with the wedding reception, and we do hope we were able to create a memorable experience for the bride and groom. Having a comfy bed to come back to after dancing in heels, I can only assume, is a definite must! Glad to hear that you had fun, and we will see you next time.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The staff from check-in to check-out were professional, helpful, courteous never have I experienced such a well traine staff. I have traveled the world for the past 40 years and have never experienced such a well trained staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Ed R.,

Wow, what a compliment! Thank you so much for choosing The Alexander. I am so excited to hear that you truly enjoyed the staff and that you felt they were the best trained staff in 40 years of traveling! It is comments like this that continue to drive our associates and managers to be the best. Thank you again, and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The Alexander looks and feels cool. The rooms are spacious. Everything feels modern. However, I go to Indy once a year for a convention and the hotel is just too far from the convention center. It isn't 2 miles a way, but probably .75 miles away and it is just annoying. It is very close to the sports arenas and would be an excellent choice if you need it for that purpose.

I also found it odd that the hotel wanted to charge me for basic toiletries. Most nicer hotels will you those for free. I was surprised. I asked for one and they tried to sell it to me at airport prices.

Free wifi, so that is nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
cph327,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's overall look and feel, as well as the complimentary wifi service. We are about 6 blocks away from the Indianapolis Convention Center which would be about a 15 minute walk or a $5.00 cab ride. As for the additional amenities, we do offer some things complimentary, and other more upgraded amenities at a charge. I do apologize that we did not have what you were looking for during your visit this year, but do hope that you think of us if you are in the area for another event or leisure trip. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further suggestions or concerns.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
michelle.dollens@dolce.com
317-624-8224
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Best hotel I've stayed at in Indianapolis. Very accommodating & attentive.clean and modern,great food & liquor selections...took my girl here for a weekend getaway & she loved the place...also the valet is very nice as well. All around great experience

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Jcfleming773,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write an online review of The Alexander. I am so glad to hear that you and your guest enjoyed the hotel, food, and overall service. We certainly hope to see you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#2 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 890 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#9 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#13 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#1 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#25 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Address: 333 S. Delaware Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.