We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Alexander to your Saves list
The Alexander
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 S. Delaware Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The staff from check-in to check-out were professional, helpful, courteous never have I experienced such a well traine staff. I have traveled the world for the past 40 years and have never experienced such a well trained staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Ed R.,

Wow, what a compliment! Thank you so much for choosing The Alexander. I am so excited to hear that you truly enjoyed the staff and that you felt they were the best trained staff in 40 years of traveling! It is comments like this that continue to drive our associates and managers to be the best. Thank you again, and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    64
    20
    9
    8
See reviews for
39
93
13
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The Alexander looks and feels cool. The rooms are spacious. Everything feels modern. However, I go to Indy once a year for a convention and the hotel is just too far from the convention center. It isn't 2 miles a way, but probably .75 miles away and it is just annoying. It is very close to the sports arenas and would be an excellent choice if you need it for that purpose.

I also found it odd that the hotel wanted to charge me for basic toiletries. Most nicer hotels will you those for free. I was surprised. I asked for one and they tried to sell it to me at airport prices.

Free wifi, so that is nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
cph327,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's overall look and feel, as well as the complimentary wifi service. We are about 6 blocks away from the Indianapolis Convention Center which would be about a 15 minute walk or a $5.00 cab ride. As for the additional amenities, we do offer some things complimentary, and other more upgraded amenities at a charge. I do apologize that we did not have what you were looking for during your visit this year, but do hope that you think of us if you are in the area for another event or leisure trip. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further suggestions or concerns.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
michelle.dollens@dolce.com
317-624-8224
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Best hotel I've stayed at in Indianapolis. Very accommodating & attentive.clean and modern,great food & liquor selections...took my girl here for a weekend getaway & she loved the place...also the valet is very nice as well. All around great experience

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Jcfleming773,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write an online review of The Alexander. I am so glad to hear that you and your guest enjoyed the hotel, food, and overall service. We certainly hope to see you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Alexander, I thought was going to trump the J.W. Marriott and other hotels in Indy, but sadly, it wasn't special enough.

The positive is decor. It feels like an art gallery.

The issue is you have to go up the stairs or wait for ONE elevator to go to the lobby. People want to check in fast.

Other major issue was the overall staff attitude. Lisa in the Marketplace dining was the best, but others were not. Amber in front desk was very good. Very professional, cared about the customer.

Rooms were very spacious, clean, but the cleaning lady didn't clean the bathroom very good.

The drawers were dusty and dirty, and my clothes had to be cleaned again when I got home.

With so many options in Indy, I'll pass on the Alexander. Sadly, I didn't feel the quality and service that other hotels provided in the past.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Daniel C.,

Thank you for your comments about your stay. I do sincerely apologize that the cleaning was not up to par and that the overall service was not satisfactory for you. I appreciate you mentioning two of our great staff members, Amber and Lisa. I have passed along your comments to them personally. I would love to talk to you about your experience, for I can assure you this is not typical of our service. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience via phone or email.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My stay at the Alexander as a great experience! I have never had such a great experience at a hotel. I highly recommend the Plat 99 bar. I was in town for a gaming convention and stopped in for a drink almost every night. Ask for Justin or Scott.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Chris K.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. It is so great to hear that you had such a great experience with us. Plat 99 is a great place to hang out each and every night, especially with this fall weather we have coming up. The atmosphere with firepits on the deck and the irresistable concoctions that our mixologists create, perfect night out! Thanks again and we do hope to have you back next year.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

If you've ever wanted to share an overnight with friends in an art gallery, and be able to get artisan cocktails while lounging on a comfy sofa and sketching at the same time, this is the place. Huge rooms, amazing food, great drinks, and the nicest staff. The water and coffee service in the lobby made our stay several times as well. When you walk up out of the heat with sore feet and they have Strawberry Vanilla water waiting for you, the day just turns around.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Ruth L.,

"Coolest hotel in Indy!" We will certainly take that! Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your comments about the atmosphere and artisan waters provided. You painted a great mental picture with your review, and we always enjoy when people can take advantage of our inspiring, art laden environment. We do hope to see you again, sketching in our living room with a great cocktail designed just for you.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My friends and I booked a room at the Alexander while attending Gencon 2014. We wanted a hotel that was close enough to the convention centre but far enough away to allow us to escape the crowds. The Alexander delivered top notch service on all fronts - the staff were friendly and helpful, the common areas stylishly decorated and comfortable and the rooms well appointed and quiet.

We did have problems with the hotel wifi but weren't in our room enough to take it up with the hotel so it is possible that our problems were isolated ones. Bathroom in our room didn't really have any place to hang towels so tossing them on the floor was basically our only option. Breakfast in the Market Table was tasty if simple, and with the addition of a buy one get one coupon from the front desk was very reasonably priced with the very thoughtful option of a coffee to go provided as you leave.

The hotel certainly went out of their way to serve Gencon attendees, setting aside a gaming room for the duration of the convention and pouring the convention official beer 'Froth of Khan' in the Plat 99 lobby bar. The bar also features a balcony with fire features making for a comfortable place to relax albiet one without much of a view.

We would absolutely stay at the Alexander again, it is a reasonably expensive hotel when compared to my usual choices, but with inflated conference hotel rates across the city the extra money did translate to extra service and an excellent experience.

Room Tip: It seems that the wifi drops off the further from the elevator you go - we saw guests crouching in t...
See more room tips
Green Features: No towel bar in our bathroom meant we had to discard towels on the floor and not re-use them - it's nice to have the choice to be green.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
ekkridon,

It was certainly our pleasure to be your hosted hotel for GenCon 2014. We do always love when this convention comes around. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the extra touches we provided for our guests. I will pass along your comments about the wifi to our IT technician to ensure that we are not having any failures. I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you, as our wireless network is typically very fast. Thank you so much for choosing The Alexander as you home away from home during the convention, and we would love to have you back again next year.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Address: 333 S. Delaware Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.