We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Alexander to your Saves list
The Alexander
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 S. Delaware Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were in town for an event at The Children's Museum (which rocked!!!) and I have nothing bad to say about my stay at The Alexander at all. Everyone, from the valet to the desk personnel, was so friendly and seemed to genuinely enjoy their job and helping the hotel's guests. The room was gorgeous and exactly the clean, modern style I love. The bed was amazingly comfortable. We heard nothing from either the hallway or our neighbors, which was a blessing. We also appreciated the way the lights were set up to automatically turn off when we pulled our key card out and left the room. It's great to visit a hotel that is environmentally sound as well as comfortable and full of beautiful and eye-catching artwork. It was as if I'd designed the hotel myself :D

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
CrayonMavens,

Thank you so much for choosing The Alexander for your visit to the city. Glad to hear that you had fun at The Children's Museum. It really is a great place for all ages! It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the design of the hotel and the quiet, comfortable room that you had. We hope to have you back again for another visit.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    74
    22
    10
    9
See reviews for
42
107
13
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was in town for the NFL Combine. Most of the coaches and scout stay at the JW Marriott, Omni, and Marriott. The Alexander, however, was the least expensive and certainly the perfect place. It's a new hotel. Very modern, walk-in showers, a lively bar, and great rooms. I can't think of a hotel that I enjoyed staying at more than this one. Put it this way...I don't ever write reviews or finish surveys, but I felt like I owed something to The Alexander for making my stay such a pleasure. I highly recommend this hotel. It's cool and a neat experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Peter R.,

Thank you for breaking out of your norm and writing a raving 5 star review on Trip Advisor!! It was so great to read that you felt so strongly about the hotel. We certainly appreciate your business and thank you for choosing to stay away from the rest of the group. We would love to host the whole group next time around as well. Feel free to give us a call to talk about options for next year with the NFL Combine. Hope to see you back again!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel. You will want to walk around and view all of the artwork. It is amazing! The room was comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I will be back. The location is within walking distance of Lucas Oil Stadium and Bankers Life Fieldhouse.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Katelyn E.,

Thank you for visiting us here at The Alexander. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed walking around and viewing all of the artwork. It is definitely something to come check out whether you stay at the hotel or not! We are partnered with the Indianapolis Museum of Art and they commissioned 14 pieces of artwork throughout the hotel! As you walk through the public space, you can see all of the Indiana history put into these pieces. Thanks again, and hope to see you back!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel is amazing. In addition to the extraordinary service, the facility is almost like an art museum. No detail is left unattended. The food service, cleanliness and friendliness/professionalism of the staff is unmatched This is perhaps the best hotel experience I have had in a long time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Frank P.,

Wow, thank you so much for your raving 5 star review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that felt the service and professionalism of the staff is "unmatched". Our staff strives to provide comfortable and inviting environments for our guests and it only motivates us more when we receive comments like these. Hopefully you can find the time to come back and see us again.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend recently just stayed here. The place was very clean and the service was amazing. We told the lady at the front desk we were staying because it was out anniversary her name was Jessica. We went to dinner and when we came back and we found a bottle of wine and chocolate covered cherries and a letter. She was a very nice lady. Our stay was great!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
aforshey21,

Thank you so much for staying with us. I'm so happy to hear that Jessica made a great impression on your anniversary! Hope everything was perfect for you and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great atmosphere and vibe for Downtown Indy! Loved the art in the hotel, staff, restaurant options, and accommodations! Perfect location for any event in Indy. The restaurant, lounge and bar options allow for many wonderful spaces for friends to gather!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Kimberly C.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Alexander on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you can plan an event or group outing to come see us soon!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We highly recommend The Alexander Hotel in Indianapolis. The Hotel is marvelous and the staff is exceptional! Market Place is the best brunch you will get anywhere in the United States. The staff remembers you by name and they are so welcoming and inviting. We love The Alexander and it is the only place we will ever stay in Indianapolis, Indiana.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
djonwater,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a 5 star review on TripAdvisor! I was so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast in Market Table. It is always great to hear that the staff knows you by name as well. Thanks for being a loyal customer and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Address: 333 S. Delaware Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.