We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander

Save Saved
You added The Alexander to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alexander
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 S. Delaware Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 184 hotels in Indianapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stylish and friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This Hotel was akin to a sleeper hit. It came recommended by my client due to its proximity to their office. While I had some reservations before I got there, my experience was a pleasurable one indeed.

A boutique hotel, it was done up very stylishly. A lot of Art and other modern exhibits gave this hotel a very chic look. The Bar was a cozy place with a nice selection of Beer and the food. The rooms were tastefully done and extremely self sufficient. The Gymnasium was very compact and extremely well maintained. The location was right next to downtown and hence very convenient for moving about.

The best part about the Hotel was the service. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and they would go out of their way to make the stay a memorable one. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone who visits Indianapolis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
eddieU84,

Thank you so much for choosing The Alexander from your client recommendations. I'm glad that you enjoyed the artwork and the friendliness of the staff. All of the artwork that you see throughout the property is commissioned from the Indianapolis Museum of Art. We will also have a boutique gift shop where you can purchase artcentric merchandise. This is coming later this month. Hope to see you again in the future and thanks for staying with us.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    49
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
27
74
11
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I recently stayed at the Alexander for the 2nd time last week for business. This has got to be the friendliest staff on the planet!! Jessica is the bomb! They go out of their way to ensure you are comfortable and the food is superb. Great hip vibe as others have said. I was upgraded to a suite and the hidden tv behind the bathroom mirror was very cool. Will certainly be back for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Clines8812,

What a statement, "friendliest staff on the planet!". I will be sure to share this review with all of our associates here at The Alexander. I am so happy that Jessica took great care of you during your stay. Thank you for your raving review and posting such great pictures! I am so happy that you chose The Alexander for your business trip to Indy. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Jess and Hampton (front desk) went out of their way to accommodate my husband, mother-in-law and I. We originally booked through Expedia and there were multiple issues, Jess and Hampton helped out so much with getting our reservations straight and getting us into a room as soon as possible. The hotel is beautiful, very clean and modern aesthetic, the food at the restaurant is scrumptious and no details were left out. The rooms are just as nice as the front entrance! Shell Chair by Hans Wegner throughout the hotel and in every room and the fold out couch even had a tempur-pedic mattress on it! We have already shared our great experience with family and friends, thank you all so much!

Room Tip: The suite was a perfect blend of family and individual space, spacious private rooms and bathrooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Haley S.,

What a great review! Thank you so much for staying with us. I am glad that Hampton and Jess made such a great impression on your experience and handled your reservation requests promptly. Sounds like you stayed in one of our Two Bedroom Suites with the full living room and kitchen. Those rooms are great for families and entertaining. I'm glad that you also enjoyed the food and decor throughout the property. Hope to have you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We recently spent a night at the Alexander and it was excellent! We were there to take our kids to the art museum and the children's museum. We didn't eat anything in the hotel so I can't speak to that, but the front desk staff was very friendly and the room was very comfortable, modern and clean.

We would definitely go back and I have already recommended the hotel to all my friends!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Chicagophotog,

Thank you for choosing The Alexander! I'm so glad you were able to come to Indy and catch the Children's museum and art museum. The children's museum is great for all ages, and we are actually partnered with the Indianapolis Museum of Art. The decor you see around the hotel was commissioned for us through the IMA. Hopefully next time you can take in some of the dining as well. Thank you for your promotion and we look forward to having you back!

Stay Warm,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a new hotel. Art is the theme and many site specific pieces are on display. The vibe is young, artsy and visual. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The chef/kitchen staff for the restaurants is top notch - creative, artistic and excellent. The Alexander is a very visual experience and I enjoyed and appreciated that. I felt good staying at this hotel and highly recommend the property.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
10950,

It was so great to read your 5 star review of The Alexander. "New, Fresh, and exciting" is certainly what we are going for. Thank you for highlighting our chef and kitchen staff for their unique and creative take on our dining experience. Our staff is excited to continue to improve on our service and cuisine in 2014! Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Stay Warm,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very attentive staff and interesting decor. The art throughout the property is different and a nice addition to the hotel. Mixology drinks in the bar were delicious and fairly priced. I would recommend this to couples looking for a weekend away or business travelers looking for something different (I was here for a night away with my hunny, but am a frequent business traveler).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Jess4774,

Thank you for staying with us here at The Alexander. I was so happy to read your 5 star review on Trip Advisor. I'm glad you enjoyed the delicious cocktails that we have to offer at Plat 99 with your guest. If you travel again for business or pleasure, we certainly hope you think of us again.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was second stay at this property (see previous review), and the service was Superb! Was in town for a business meeting, of which some of the meeting was held at this property. The front desk staff was very attentive and the most Helpful & Friendliest I've encountered in the industry!! The food was amazing, rooms were clean, and the beds/linens where SO comfortable!!!! It's all about service at this property and their staff are 5 stars!! This is a fabulous property with lots of beautiful art (some available for purchase) and amazing place for business travelers! It a short walk to the Circle Center mall/ downtown area and Lilly offices.

Would Highly recommend this property and look forward to staying here the next time in the area!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Alexiaann,

Wow! Thank you so much for your raving 5 Star review about our staff and service. Our associates truly strive to create memorable experiences for our guests and it is reviews like this that keep us energized and motivated. I am also glad to see you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the inspiring artwork throughout the property. Thank you for being a loyal customer and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Address: 333 S. Delaware Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 184 hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.