We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander

Save Saved
You added The Alexander to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alexander
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 S. Delaware Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 184 hotels in Indianapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed here for a Pacers game and loved it! It is very close the the Bankers Life fieldhouse and was able to walk to the game. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly. I would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
beth_dz,

We hope you enjoyed the Pacer's game on your recent visit and thank you for choosing The Alexander. It is great to be neighbors with the Pacers and the Bankers Life Fieldhouse. The Dolce three rings represent; nourishment, connectivity and community - our partnership with the community is paramount in all we do! We appreciate your 5 Star Trip Advisor Review of The Alexander and it was our pleasure to serve you during your visit to the Circle City.

We hope to see you again in the upcoming play off season as we are confident our neighbors, the Pacers will enjoy success!

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    49
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
27
74
11
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the NCAA Sweet 16 weekend and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised at how great this hotel handled all the people, especially after being open for only 2 months! They have a chic/modern look and feel to the place - but not overly modern to the point of uncomfy chairs, etc. Our room was a California King on the 5th floor. The hardwood floors are great, with the only downside being the women's heels on the floor above us. Room service was on-time, hot and tasty for breakfast. We will definitely be staying here again on future visits to Indy. Tip: if you're looking to save a few bucks, you can self-park in the attached garage for $7 less per night and you just walk over to the hotel in the enclosed connector on floor 3 of the garage. (it's only like a 30ft walk!)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
escheutz,

Thank you for choosing The Alexander over this past weekend during the NCAA Sweet 16 Basketball. We were very please to hear you enjoyed your stay and we will share your feedback with our team. It was an exciting and busy weekend. It was our pleasure to apart of this event in Indianapolis and we appreciate your business.

We look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you back to the Circle City!

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargersville, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was part of a group experience at the hotel. We visited Platt 99 and regardless of the atmosphere, which was staged due to our event, I engaged different employees of the property to test their knowledge and expand my own. I used to work in the area, so I felt comfortable asking particular questions. The staff is knowledgeable and willing to answer any questions. They are competent and excited about the facility and the technological and environmental advances. As someone who pays attention to waste, I am extremely pleased with the sources set up to protect the guests and the environment. I'm not sure if I can afford to stay in a room, though they are fantastic in every aspect, but I look forward to eating more of the food I tasted. One con is educating the staff on the liquor provided because some is local. The staff is vital to education on the supplies on hand when distributors visit and share their products. Those of us who know the off-brand liquors will ask and if the staff is unaware, it makes them look "out of the loop:"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
noble 1582,

We loved your comments, "The staff is knowledgeable and willing to answer any questions. They are competent and excited about the facility and the technological and environmental advances". We are very passionate about the environment and our upcoming acheivement of Silver LEED Certification. The owneship has installed the latest in technology to ensure the hotel is Green and we have a minimal carbon foot print. As you know this cannot be done by technology alone and we formed our committee of passionate hotel associates from every department to lead and educate the entire team on our continued practices, processes and focus on Green intitiatives. Combined with our passion for "Thoughtful Foods for Thoughtful Minds", we focus on healthly, locally grown farm to table concepts throughout the hotel.

It is exciting to be a part of The CityWay development and revitalization of vibrant downtown Indianapolis but reading your comments are most important as it reinforces we are on point in our mission and our guests appreciate the vision.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future and thank you again for sharing your comments in a review with Trip Advisor!

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice addition to downtown and good service. I would recommend getting on the Hotel Tonight app so you can continue to flourish before other hotels in Indy do. Its the new and upcoming way to book rooms. Overall nice and modern. Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
nmtcfe,

We appreciate your recent review on Trip Advisor and will share your positive comments with our team of hospitality professionals. We are so excited to be in the great city of Indianapolis and to be apart of the community. Our goal is to create inspirig environments that bring people together. We truly appreciate your feedback and we will definately look into Hotel Tonight App you suggested. I have forward this information to our Director of Sales & Marketing as well as our IT Manager to explore this opportunity of our hotel. We appreciate the suggestion.

We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future!

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
DIrector of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just two months old and making a mark in downtown Indianapolis; conveniently located within walking distance of many attractions & shops. Stayed here three days on business, and felt at home immediately. Sleek, modern hotel with fine amenities. Service with a smile from all staff; the parking attendant, Matthew, remembered my by name after first checking in. Clean everywhere. Spacious state of the art rooms with hardwood floors & huge windows; very comfortable beds; bathrooms with top line toiletries. Ample breakfast buffet with made to order items; attentive servers. Good meeting rooms. -- And modern art everywhere you look that is so well integrated into the architecture. [Walls between bedrooms must be pretty thin; could hear next door guests talking.]

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
mph 111,

It is always great to received a positive review on Trip Advisor but when one receives a review such as your's from a Trip Advisor - Senior Contributor we could not be more proud. We have gathered a team of Indianapolis's finest talent and they will all be so excited to read your positive review and your kind words. The partnership with our hotel ownership and Dolce Hotels & Resorts has been a very positive and supportive venture. Our goal is to be the finest hotel in the Indianapolis market. When combining the components of exceptional service, outstanding product quality and the unique partnership with the Indiana Museum of Art we believe this is a receipe for success. It was our pleasure to serve you during your visit to the Circle City!

When your travels bring you back to the area in the future we would love to and look forward to serving you again.

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terre haute, IN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a great stay at the Alexander in downtown Indy. The hotel is beautiful,modern and full of contemporary art. The bar is unique and the bartenders, although busy, were very attentive. It's within walking distance to downtown, although we used the valet service to retrieve our car for dinner, since it was unseasonably cold. The staff was eextremely friendly. The only downside was the horrible breakfast the next morning. Advice: Avoid the buffet and find a breakfast place nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
susiespy,

We were so happy to hear your comments, "We had a great stay at the Alexander in downtown Indy. The hotel is beautiful,modern and full of contemporary art. The bar is unique and the bartenders, although busy, were very attentive"! We will share your comments with our staff and I am certain they will be excited to read your review. We were disappointed to hear you did not enjoy the breakfast. We continue to work on our Interactive Kitchen concept in Market Table as it is new to the Indianapolis market. We have received very positive reviews from the majority of our guests but continue to evaluate all aspects of products and sevices based on our guest feedback. I will share your paticular comments with the Chef.

Thank you so very much for taking time to complete a Trip Advisor review and we appreciate your 5 Star Rating!

We look foward to serving you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

First, it was very clean which is a must in hotels. The place was also very 'artsy' and modern. The staff was super friendly. And I LOVED the room. I also really liked the fact that we didn't have drive once we got to the hotel. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from any restaurant, a mall, and other interesting things.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Tarah B,

We love to hear you, "Loved It" as we loved serving you during your visit. When I read your comments at our weekly meeting the staff smiled are were excited to hear your 5 Star review. It is exciting to open a new hotel but more importantly we love hearing feedback from our hotel guests! The Alexander and CityWay is a great place to Work, Play & Stay and the vibrant Indianapolis downtown is a perfect location. We have selected the finest hospitality professionals in the City who love to serve our guests. Please come to visit us again soon as we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Address: 333 S. Delaware Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 184 hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.