We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 East Market Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #18 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

From the valet guy to the homeless people on the street, everyone was nice. We were in town for GenCon and really enjoyed being in Indy. The hotel was an old building but they have it bright and clean and you don't notice how old the building is. The suite was clean with a beautiful skylight. No complaints at all. The stay went off without a hitch...except that we have to mail back a key card to them. Oops. Sorry about that. :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear hpyw2,

Thanks for staying with us during a very busy , but fun time in our city. We are glad you had a wonderful experience not only at our hotel, but in our city. I hope we will see you again same time next year safe travels.


Sincerely,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    156
    53
    17
    6
See reviews for
90
97
26
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pevely, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Here on busines for 1 night. Good location in the city with walking distance to many things. Felt safe. Food quality very good, fast room service, nice staff in the restaurant and front desk. A deal breaker for me is the quality of the mattresses and this wasnt up to par.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear, Michaela V,

Thanks for taking time to review our hotel. We appreciate all the positive you commented on. We realized that there is no in-between when it comes to our beds. You either like them or hate them. It bothers me to hear that maybe a deal breaker so next time you are in town let me know and I will see what we can do.

Sincerely,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Like so many HGIs, this property is excellent. Clean, convenient, friendly... couldn't ask for more. A word to other business travelers who rely drugstores for travel needs, there are two CVS stores within a few blocks and both close very early (6 or 7pm). Otherwise there is nothing within walking distance if you need snacks/drinks/toiletries.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear ajlbb,

Thank you for a great review.

You are correct that there are 2 drugstores that are very close yet they do close early. We also have a small pantry located next to the front desk. It is small, but we do try to stock it with as many items as possible. If we over looked anything or have suggestions please let us know we will be happy to stock it.


Sincerely,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The most interesting thing about this hotel is the building. It was a refurbished old bank building. They kept many charming old touches, which makes it a very interesting place and definitely a cut above a standard cookie-cutter new building.

I had a perfectly fine stay and would gladly go there again. A few suggestions, though, on how ti improve:
1. The space for the valet parking is VERY tight. I had to circle the block several times before I could even pull up. I'm not sure what the fix would be, but it was annoying after a long drive to have to fight with traffic.
2. The sign-in process for the internet was very complicated. Seemed like it took a step or two too many. Could be simplified. At least it was free as an HHonors member.
3. The fitness center was small to begin with. Very small. But one treadmill wasn't working nor was the video feed on any of the machines.
4. The closet was really hard to find. I saw another poster comment on that. It took me a while to find it too.
5. Interesting idea to have the adjustable firmness on the bed. But one almost needs to un-make the bed to get at the controls. Then, after all that, the controls weren't working. Argh.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear KenMKE,

Thanks for the detailed review, I want to apologizes for the issues you had, but appreciate you letting us know and still giving a wonderful review. I will make sure we review your comments and do the best we can to fix or at least do our best to make them better.


Sincerely,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Historic hotel in downtown Indianapolis. Excellent customer service. Comfortable beds. Fast room service. Suites have refrigerator and microwave. Convenient to all restaurants and map to area restaurants provided.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Robin S,

What a great review words cannot describe how much your positive comments makes a difference to our team. The reason we can consistently give great service is because our team sees such wonderful comments as these which lifts their spirits by letting them know what they do matters in giving a great experience.

Sincerely,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed for a concert at the fairgrounds which was just a short 15 minute drive with traffic. The hotel was short staffed on valet and so we had trouble getting our car re-parked after the concert but otherwise the hotel is very clean and quiet. The beds are very hard so unless you like it that way this could be a problem. The adjustable lever on the mattress does nothing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear chr1524,

My apologies about the valet service which I will be addressing. Our beds should be adjustable by the dial, but again I am sorry that that did not work properly. We will be looking at that immediately. We do want to thank you for the kind review even with those issues, We want to give a great experience to all guests. Next time you are in town please let me know I would like to make up for the issues you received.

Sincerely,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Don't read into any of this. Go to the hotel and experience it for your self. I have been coming here for 2 years now at lease once a month. Its consistent, friendly and the value is un real. This is the place to stay when in Indianapolis.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Gilberto T,

WOW!!!!! Thanks for being part of out family, We really do our best by hiring the right team that has the personality to really get to know our guests, and especially our guest who stay with us often. I will make sure I share your comments on the great experience you receive consistently.

Sincerely,

Richard Letko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 10 East Market Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#18 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and value combine in this historic building in downtown Indianapolis. Oversized guest rooms with picture windows, refrigerators, microwaves and complimentary Wi-Fi ensure a comfortable and convenient stay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.