We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Predictable. Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 East Market Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Downtown Shopping Package
Ranked #15 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Predictable. Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice old bank building has been refurbed to the hotel. Great location, right off the circle. Within walking distance to everything downtown. Got a corporate rate through my company and the price was well justified. Clean room, great service.

HHonors Gold benefit got me a nice room upgrade, free Wifi, free items in the hotel grocery store and my choice of hot breakfast or extra HHonors points.

Only room for improvement is the hotel gym. Incredibly tiny and in the basement - eek!

Room Tip: Top floor reserved for Diamond and Gold members.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As you pointed out our building is a refurbished bank that is registered as an historic building. This makes it a little difficult to add additional space like making the fitness room larger. I do apologize where it is and the size, but we have recently upgraded all the equipment.

Sincerely,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    146
    49
    16
    6
See reviews for
84
90
26
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed with a military discount and got free breakfast, great deal and a great place.
That said let me warn you; if you smoke, the only place is to do that is very "shady" and kinda scary.
The reason to ask for a "22" room is because it's an end room, has a little more space and there is no noise

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Vicki G,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy you had a great experience. I do apologize about the smoking situation. Our city has an no- smoking policy, and being in the middle of the city makes it difficult to form a smoking area. Since out hotel is a historic building all rooms are a little different. The rooms ending in 22 are a little bigger and they do have a great view.

Hope to see you hear again soon,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is the second year in a row we've come here to participate in a bike race and we couldn't ask for more. Staff went above and beyond to accommodate our unusual timeline requests without adding additional costs to our trip. Hope to stay here again for next year's race!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Sheri M,

We really love to hear about guests returning to our hotel. We understand to be successful we have to give a great experience consistently. Knowing that you are looking to come back again lets me know we are meeting our goal.

I hope I get the pleasure to meet you next time,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for one night for a quick getaway. The hotel is in an old building that has been restored. The room was clean and of adequate size. Our room was not ready when we arrived, so they moved us to one that was ready, although it was a handicap-accessible room. The best part of the hotel is the location. We walked to several places around downtown with ease. The only real hassle is the parking. If you are ok with valet, it is no problem, otherwise you will need to locate your own parking space or use the garage down the street.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for such a positive review of our hotel. I do want to apologize about parking. Since we located in the heart of the city we have to contact parking out. That can be difficult, but we do our best in keeping the price below market standards.

Take care, and next time let us know you are a return guest,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were there for a wedding from July 2 - July 6. The staff was great. They were helpful in any way that we asked. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent. The head chef Damon has a true gift when it comes to food. Ask for the Chicken Alfredo it is delectable. We were able to see the fireworks from right outside the hotel lobby. The price per night was very inexpensive for the great quality we received.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for pointing out your dining experience. A Hilton Garden Inn usually does not get recognized for its food quality, but we are the exception. We have numerous compliments on how great our food really is, and it is due to the quality of people we have in that department.

I will be sure to let them know that you had a great experience.

Sincerely,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, NC
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This place scores 98%. I was traveling with my adult son and his friend (18 and 19 yrs old). I thought the beds would be Queen size, but when we got there and saw the two double beds we realized that sharing a bed was not going to work. After dinner, I asked Olivia if there were cots available, and she said "yes", but cots do not fit in your room. However, I can move you to a bigger room. Even though we had stayed in the room a few hours, she moved us at not charge.

Yes, we did pay a pretty penny for this and I agree I did not like the nickel and dime of paying for parking, but that is par for the course in the city. The cot was free and the wifi was free as well.

Beds were great. If you want a bigger room ask for a room ending in "22".

There are swankier hotels closer to Lucas Oil, but I could not find anything cheaper with this quality. But this is still walking distance, and the walk was "safe" for city standards.

Pros---Beds, Customer Service, Location, Bagel Place/Pizza Place and Starbucks all across the street. Indoor pool and hot tub.

Cons--Breakfast only free for Gold/Platinum, Lobby Restroom was NOT clean (actually embarrassingly dirty).

Room Tip: Ask for a "22" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear NorthCarloina621,

WOW!!!!! What a nice compliment. We really strive hard to put the right people in place to give a positive experience, and something to remember. It appears we are putting the right team together. I will make sure Olivia is rewarded for her great customer service.

Hope to see you again,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed in corner room 1010 for the 4th of July in downtown Indianapolis, IN. We were able to view the fireworks going on in different areas of the city with the many windows. The room was very clean, spacious bathroom and we had the dble beds which you could adjust from soft to firm. No complaints other than the elevator slowness. However this is an old bank building converted so there is still the nostalgia with the elevators. Overall a very good stay and would definitely stay again! Only 1/2 block to Monument Circle and walking distance other downtown restaurants and shops. Front desk check in was quick, friendly and informative.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Vincent,

We realize there are a lot of hotels you can pick to stay at which is why we strive for not only great customer service, but an exceptionally clean room to give you a great experience.

Since we are in the heart of Indy you are able to see the fireworks quite well. The city does a great job hosting the firework display on the 4th of July.

We hope to see you next time you are in town,

Sincerely,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 10 East Market Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#11 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and value combine in this historic building in downtown Indianapolis. Oversized guest rooms with picture windows, refrigerators, microwaves and complimentary Wi-Fi ensure a comfortable and convenient stay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.