We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average. Good location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 East Market Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #18 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Boston
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average. Good location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Good location in the city. I would say its just average. Lobby is decent but its an older building and could use some renovations. As stated in other reviews, parking isn't the best. I would possibly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, Richard Letko-GM at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks for the review of our hotel. We try to give every guest a great experience when visiting Indianapolis, and we are disappointed you think we are average.
We take pride in giving great service all the time while doing our best to make sure all guest are happy before departing. Our hotel may give the appearance of being old, however we are registered as a historic building. Yes, we have a historic look along with having all the upgraded amenities any HGI has.

As stated in a previous comment.. Parking is a challenge in every city and Indianapolis is one of the cheaper on in the US. We do not have our own parking facilities so we pay offsite parking vendors, If we did own our own parking we would have a little more flexibility, but we are limited in our options, which is the norm in most cities.

Please let me know the next time you visit.

Best wishes,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    156
    53
    17
    6
See reviews for
90
97
26
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Nice hotel, not your normal cookie cutter Garden Inn. Located right off the City central circle. Good location for just about anything you want or need to do in Indianapolis. Parking is a bit pricey, there is really no where to park for free.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, Richard Letko-GM at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks for a great review of our hotel we try to give every guest a great experience when visiting Indianapolis.

Parking is a challenge in every city. Indianapolis is one of the lower priced ones in the US. We do not have our own parking facilities, so we contract offsite parking vendors, If we did own our own parking we would have a little more flexibility, but we are limited in our options, which is the norm in most cities.

Hope to see you in the near future, please let me know the next time you visit.

Best wishes,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great place, neat old style, but restaurant needs updating with real food. Love the lobby, but the entire restuarant expericcne is very lacking. The valet is quick but at $25 per night, seems high. So, if you want to park, then be ready to paying out. The food is better off sight.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, Richard Letko-GM at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
My apologies you did not have a good experience in our restaurant. Normally we get rave reviews on the service and the food. Please feel free to contact me to discuss further.

I want every guest to have a great experience throughout our hotel.

Thanks,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I was in Indianapolis for a convention and am very happy I stayed at the Garden Inn. The entire staff was helpful and friendly, more like a boutique European hotels than a downtown convention hotel. Special kudo's to Jiliane, who gave me great advice on restaurants and was just generally the perfect hotel resource. As previous reviewers have mentioned, one has to be careful modulating the hot water during a shower at the 1915 Fletcher Trust Building turned Hilton Garden Inn. Talking to the ever friendly and helpful Jiliane, I discovered that hot water fluctuations are an artifact of the building heating system and age and that the hotel is trying to address the problem. Even with the hot water a tricky, stay here. It is a great experience and a great bargain.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, Richard Letko-GM at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We have had challenges with the hot water fluctuation. We are heating the water a little hotter than normal in order to make sure the supply is enough because of the extreme cold. Going forward we will be switching to boilers, which will solve those issues. I apologize it was not finished before your stay.

Our staff strives to give a great experience to our guests so, I do appreciate the positive review even though you had an issue. It goes to show with great service one bump in the road will not spoil a trip as long as you know the service it there and that we care.

Thanks again,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlinville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

A quiet, classy old hotel. Location makes walking to downtown events easy. Parking garage nearby. Room was quiet, bed comfortable. Small bathroom w/horrible shower temperature control-cold to hot in a uncomfortable, dangerous way.I reported this so hopefully it will get fixed. Lobby small but nice fireplace & small seating area w/courtesy coffee & water--nice touch. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, Richard Letko-GM at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
I do apologize with the hot water issue you had. This year we are switching from steam to boilers which will be more efficient, and we will have a lot better control no matter what the temperature is outside.

Thank you for mentioning the positive aspects of the hotel too. We normally do not have those fluctuation issues, but with the extreme cold it has caused some challenges.

Thanks again for your positive review,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Front Desk staff were not at ALL sympathetic or helpful with the TERRIBLE parking at this Hotel. When downgrading the Room - did not offer to LOWER the price of the Room. Front Desk staff were not at ALL sympathetic or helpful with the TERRIBLE parking at this Hotel. When downgrading the Room - did not offer to LOWER the price of the Room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
City parking is never an easy task, and when the city is full with conventions it is even more difficult to find open space. I am not sure what you mean by down grading your room all rooms are the same except for bed types, and suites.

We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your concerns have been addressed with the appropriate team members in order to improve. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The hotel room was great, very clean. Hotel located right in downtown short walking distance from the mall and some restaurants.
Across the street you can find Starbucks and Einstein bagels.
Vallet parking is 20 USD for 24 hours with unlimited inns and outs.
Pool was very nice and so was the Jacuzzi in the pool area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
The Hilton Garden Inn is not your typical hotel. We have all the great amenities that HGI's have, but we have a different look since we are a registered historic building.

We realize that having a unique look, and keeping our hotel clean with great service will give our guests a great experience they deserve.

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel,

Richard Letko-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 10 East Market Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#18 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and value combine in this historic building in downtown Indianapolis. Oversized guest rooms with picture windows, refrigerators, microwaves and complimentary Wi-Fi ensure a comfortable and convenient stay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.