We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice downtown hotel, but there are better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 East Market Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #18 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A nice downtown hotel, but there are better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed two nites at the Hilton Garden Inn on business in July 2012. The hotel was walking distance to my biz meetings, so it was incredibly handy. Also, it is located right off of Monument Circle (I could even see the monument from my room), so it's additionally well-located to restaurants and sight-seeing.

The hotel is located in an old bank building and still has gorgeous engraved brass elevator doors off of the marble lobby. The rooms, themselves, are a little smallish, but nicely appointed. The bed is a sort of "Sleep Number" knock-off which has a dial on the side of the mattress that you can dial for levels of firmness. I couldn't tell much difference in the settings, honestly. There is a microwave and a fridge (in addition to the standard coffeemaker) which is great if you want to skimp on room service or the downstairs buffet. Standard-size bathroom with low, non-soaking style tub.

As an aside, a colleague I was travelling with checked into her "non-smoking" room and it reeked of smoke. She said that, clearly, someone had been smoking quite heavily in the room before she checked in. She asked to be moved and, luckily, her second room was better.

This is definitely a nice enough hotel & a good value for the price. However, after staying at the Omni, I would likely rebook there before staying at the Hilton Garden Inn, again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indyilinds, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll think of us along with the Omni the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    154
    53
    17
    6
See reviews for
90
97
26
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We loved the hotel. Staff was great and the room was nice. Half a block from the circle monument. Loved eating and drinking downtown and walking to our room. You can't beat the location if you want to stay downtown. Many good places to eat and drink downtown. Would stay at again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indyilinds, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for writing! We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have been a loyal Hilton Honors member for many years and generally really like Hilton Garden Inn's. I have stayed at this particular HGI many times, and been please for the most part. My most recent stay at this HGI however was quite poor.

For starters when I checked in I informed the front desk that my wife would be staying with me, but that she would not be at the hotel until later in the evening and would need to pick up a key card. I asked the gentlemen at the front desk if this would be a problem and he said as long as she had her ID and had the same last name it would be no hassle at all. However when she arrived she was not asked for her ID, and given the run around about if they would be able to provide her with a key.

Our first night sleeping in the room it kept sound like someone was swiping a key card and trying to get into the room. Turns out it was the AC unit that was making a fairly loud noise about once every 20 minutes. It was very disruptive while trying to sleep because it honestly sounded exactly like someone was trying to enter the room.

The maid service was pretty terrible to be honest. The bed was made each day, but other than that no real attempt to clean the room was made. Once we came back to find the bed made, but the trash cans still full. The ironing board was still in the middle of the room (was running late one morning and didnt put it away) and the maid made no effort to even straighten it up.

Anyways..This hotel is in a great location, the price is decent, and it could be worse. However, next time I stay downtown, this wont be my first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indyilinds, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for your recent stay. I do apologize we did not meeting your expectations. I am happy to hear that you have been here before and know that the things that occurred were not the norm for our hotel. We take pride in not only meeting, but exceeding our guests' expectations. It is not acceptable that we failed you. I have personally sat down with each department to discuss the issues you experienced while here and to check on the HVAC unit for the room in which you stayed. If you have any discomforts or inconveniences at our, or any hotel, in the future, please be sure to address them with the staff so we have the opportunity to make it right and improve your stay experience. We truly hope that you will give us another chance to be your first choice when visiting Indianapolis.

Please contact our Assistant General Manager i of you would like to discuss your stay in more detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

A mid-week business conference brought me to Indianapolis for the second time in 3 months. I was more than happy to again select the Hilton Garden Inn as an alternative to the property where the conference was being held - a larger newer hotel. I was able to check in early which was extremely helpful because of the midday start of the conference. The complementary breakfast coupons made it convenient to get a quick and nutritious meal to begin each busy day. My experience included a nice, clean room, easy to access free wifi, and very responsive room service. The staff, especially those in food service were very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Great location if you are attending an event at the Fieldhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indyilinds, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your post! We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you back a third time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed one night over the weekend. The rooms are plenty big enough, and having a fridge and microwave is convenient. It's in a historic building, but the rooms are modern. The cable was out in the morning. The receptionship took a little off the bill, and they were able to fix it while I was at breakfast. The hotel breakfast is better than average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indyilinds, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thanks for writing. I apologize for the trouble with the TV over the weekend. We have a satellite service so maybe there was a little glitch with the reception there. I'm glad you were happy with your stay and we hope you'll think of us again the next time you're in Indy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was a very nice alternative (i have stayed at Conrad in past). The staff was very friendly, helpful and the location was perfect. This property is different from most HGI's because its in an older building that has been renovated...some cool features. The rooms are set up nicley and are good size. Breakfast in the morning was very nice and again he service was awesome. Only down point was the elevators were extremely slow, maybe because they looked "retro". Nice place and i would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indyilinds, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was better than I expected for a Hilton Garden Inn. Check-in was quick and my room (with two double beds) was quite spacious and clean. The location was very convenient. I walked to dinner the first night I was there. I ate at Adobo Grill and it was excellent (I had guacamole/chips and a butternut squash enchilada). There do seem to be a number of panhandlers around, so if you are not comfortable with that, be aware. It doesn't bother me, so it was an easy walk to Adobo. As another poster referenced, the Starbucks is right across the street from the hotel - very convenient for those who need their regular caffeine hits. The mall is also convenient to the hotel (for those who need regular retail hits).

The first morning during my stay I had breakfast in the hotel (located just off the lobby not far from where you check in). The service was very good - as was my breakfast of eggs, hash browns and coffee. Later, after a long day at my conference, I ordered room service for dinner and it was prompt and decent/good. Check-out was easy and there were taxis lined up across the street, so I had an easy return to the airport.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 7th floor near the vending machine and elevator (you could see my room as soon as yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indyilinds, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks so much for your review! It looks like everything you noted about us was positive and we are happy to have provided you a hotel and service better than expected! I'm a huge fan of Adobo Grill; it was my first taste of fresh guacamole and it's only a block from the hotel. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 10 East Market Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#18 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and value combine in this historic building in downtown Indianapolis. Oversized guest rooms with picture windows, refrigerators, microwaves and complimentary Wi-Fi ensure a comfortable and convenient stay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.