We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 East Market Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #19 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very decent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed for one night. Helpful front desk staff. Terrific downtown location.Easy walk to convention center. Very large room. Accessible outlets - nice that some hotels have figured this out. TV had a wide swivel range - it's the little things that make a stay so much easier. Neutrogena bath products. i would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    172
    61
    20
    8
See reviews for
108
107
26
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Nice hotel for the price. Nothing spectacular as far as views go, but great service and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend event. Even though we live in Indy, wanted to make a fun weekend of everything! I was very impressed by this hotel. The lobby is amazing. It's very elegant and unique, due to the fact the building is an historic landmark. The rooms were quite nice and modern. The beds can be adjusted, though they are very confusing to use, and I didn't notice any difference in settings, but they were quite comfortable all the same. I requested a late checkout, and was offered 2pm! This was amazing to me, as 1pm is typically the cut off. I typically stay in Marriott properties, but this Hilton will be high on my list if I plan to stay in downtown Indianapolis again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We went to Indy for a getaway weekend and a concert. The hotel was in the center of downtown and very short walking distance from shopping, restaurants, night clubs and sporting venues. The hotel is located steps away from the historic Monument Circle, and close to the river walk and the new 9/11 exhibit. Hotel staff were very nice, and their restuarant recommendation was spot on. Hotel rooms were average size and very clean but the lobby has the look of an older hotel. Hotel bar is nothing special. Valet parking is not necessary as there is a parking deck literally across the street for $9 per day. Perfect location if you are headed to downtown Indy !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed here for a conference in July. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I usually stay at Marriott but all Marriott properties were sold out and they (Marriott) doubled their prices for this busy weekend in Indianapolis. I called this property and got a very large double room for a great price. The location was wonderful and I will defiantly stay at this property again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I've stayed in downtown Indy several times and was excited to try this property. I'm so glad I did! The elegant lobby and friendly staff immediately made me feel at home. The location was exceptional: just steps away from Monument Circle with dozens of restaurants in the surrounding blocks.

I had a minor maintenance issue that they addressed lightning fast (less than 10 minutes after I called there was a knock on my door).

I forgot to ask about the history of the building--I'm guessing it must have been an historic hotel that was extensively renovated to meet Hilton Garden Inn's high standards.

Oh, and for seven bucks you can take Indy's super convenient "Green Line" shuttle between the airport and downtown--departures every 20 minutes between 5am and 9pm. It drops you just around the corner from the hotel (beats a $35 cab ride even with luggage!), and they take credit cards.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Hello there! Thanks for the great review! To answer your history on our building, it was builtin 1915 by the architectural team of Arthur Bohn and Kurt Vonnegut, Sr. The Fletcher Building was Indy's first skyscraper, now a baby in today's standards, and housed the American Fletcher National Bank. In the '80's it was the Bank One Tower and First Hospitality Group, Inc. bought the building, renovated into an HGI and we opened in December 2003! We are still on the National Register of Historic Places. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

we stayed here for 4 nights for the Indy 500 Memorial Day weekend 2011 for the Race. Typically we have stayed at the Sheraton downtown, however, that was booked, so we booked this hotel.
Great choice - everything was great - the rooms were great - quiet and very clean/comfortable. The bathrooms were really clean and everything looked like it had been remodeled recently.
We hit the bar a few times in the lobby - not really alot of selection there, but that is fine. We hit it more for drinks. Not sure if they have a menu or aps. Really, it doesn't matter b/c you are a few steps from every restaurant in downtown Indy once you walk outdoors.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 10 East Market Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#18 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and value combine in this historic building in downtown Indianapolis. Oversized guest rooms with picture windows, refrigerators, microwaves and complimentary Wi-Fi ensure a comfortable and convenient stay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.