We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice alternative to pricey downtown hotels.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   410 South Missouri Street, Indianapolis, IN 46225 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #61 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice alternative to pricey downtown hotels.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for business because it was a cheaper alternative to the host hotel and other recommended options. Hotel was clean and updated and the staff was very pleasant. This was an economical business option. As stated by other reviewers, downtown bars and restaurants are about a 10 minute walk away. Location also had easy access to local running/biking trails which was nice. Breakfast was typical - nothing to get overly excited, about but functional. Enjoyed the Wed happy hour (beer and light snacks) which was a nice surprise after a run. Worst thing about my stay is that I was solicited for money by a shady local about 5 minutes after I arrived (and was still in my car).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for pointing out what a good value we are! And we are conveniently located to downtown restaurants and shopping as well as Lucas Oil Stadium and Victory Field. For those who enjoy walking, running, and biking, the canal just north of us is a great area for recreation. You will also find the IMAX Theatre, the Indiana State Museum, the Eiteljorg Museum, and the NCAA Hall of Champions there. If you did not get the opportunity to explore these places due to business on this trip, come back and check them out for vacation or weekend visit. Indianapolis is a very walkable city!

Thank you for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    43
    22
    7
    10
See reviews for
32
26
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Okay....it's a nice property that is conveniently located, but for the price, it is not that good. The front desk/reservation team needs a significant upgrade. My reservations were confirmed twice the week previously to my arrival and yet when I arrived they insisted I had no room. 30 minutes to clear up and we found it under a different name; one that had been changed more than once! I don't know if it the reservation system or the people, but it was very irritating. I travel a lot and never have I had to go through so much at check-in. Oh, and the rooms are not even close to sound proof, so if you stay be prepared for the city sounds and the morning construction crew.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I apologize for the problems you encountered locating your reservation. Our staff takes pride in providing excellent guest service. If you are willing to provide more information regarding your stay, it would give us the opporunity to correct the problem you had in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly at 317-822-6400.

Sincerely,

Kelly Tabeling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you are in the downtown Indianapolis area, especially for a longer term stay, this is the place to go! Chelsea (ask for her) really helped me find the best deal for me in the area for the 8-9 weeks I was there. This place is also RIGHT next door to Lucas Oil stadium and about 2-3 blocks from bars and restaurants. The front desk staff was great, very friendly and made me feel right at home. They have a great breakfast in the morning, pool, gym, etc. The rooms are extremely clean and the beds are more than extremely comfortable- I was sleeping like a baby. They had drinks and snacks on wednesdays for guests, which was great. I will definitely be visiting this place again when I am in the Indianapolis area.

Room Tip: I had suites close to the corner for the most part and had zero issues!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My friends and I were in Indy for a girls weekend and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express downtown. Very, very clean and nice. The staff was wonderful. This hotel is located right across from Lucas Oil Stadium and also within walking distance to all the downtown nightlife, shopping, food, etc. Also the free breakfast was amazing...the biscuits and gravey were wonderful! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here 1 nite on business.
+'s: Convenient to businesses & gov't offices downtown, across the street from Lucas Oil Stadium; appears to be a new hotel or newly remodeled; very clean & new. Nice size rooms.
-'s: Street noise - even though I was on 5th floor, I heard lots of traffic noise from street below.

Room Tip: Stay in King with sofa bed & side chair = good sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa, ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were in Indianapolis for business and stayed at this hotel. It is nice and close to downtown, shopping and restaurants. The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable. The staff is great. It is right across the street from the Lucas Oil Stadium and down the road from the conference centre.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. If you are flying in to Indy I would not suggest taking the bus from the airport. They don't let you off at the hotel but a block away and only after they drive you around the city letting everyone else off first.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendallville, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Holiday inn is located close to the convention center as well as Lucas Oil Stadium. The staff were friendly. The room and the hotel were clean. The room could have used some updating. The shower head was plugged up some, and one of the chairs in our room was broken. They were in the process of painting in the hallways while we were there. The breakfast was good. They have cinnamon rolls, biscuits and gravy, eggs, ham, and a pancake machine. The pool area was not the best. It looked a lot older than the rest of the hotel. The hot tub was lukewarm. When we started the jets it sound like a jet taking off. The sound continued the entire time we were in the tub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear waltja02,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room furniture, pool and the hot tub. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre

Address: 410 South Missouri Street, Indianapolis, IN 46225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis City Centre, located in beautiful downtown Indianapolis. Enjoy sensational shopping, exciting nightlife, as well as both professional and amateur sporting events all within walking distance. This downtown Indianapolis hotel is conveniently located off I-70, two blocks south of the Indiana Convention Center and footsteps from the new Lucas Oil Stadium - home of the Indianapolis Colts! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis City Centre offers a fresh decor with inviting rooms which were recently renovated in 2009. Upgrade to a romantic whirlpool room or a spacious suite with kitchenette. This downtown hotel offers affordable meeting space, indoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, Suite Shoppe convenience store, and guest laundry facilities. A complimentary hot Express Start breakfast is available daily featuring signature cinnamon rolls and a rotating menu of hot items. Our attractive guest rooms include free high-speed Internet access and flat panel HDTVs with movie channels. Shuttle service is available in the immediate downtown area for a nominal fee, based on availability. The hotel is located 20 minutes from the Indianapolis International Airport. The 'Green Line' airport shuttle provides inexpensive door to door transportation. Affordable parking available on site. Enjoy our 100% Smoke Free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre Hotel Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.