We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   410 South Missouri Street, Indianapolis, IN 46225 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #67 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while attending a ladies conference at the Indiana Convention Centre. It was very nice and staff were very efficient and friendly. It is very convenient to the Convention Centre and also to walking to the downtown area. I was on the 5th floor and the room was lovely. I did not find traffic noise any problem and everything was in working order. There isn't really any restaurants super close to the hotel but there is a variety store nearby at the Speedway gas station where you can get pizza and sandwiches etc. The breakfast was very good and considering that the hotel had many of the ladies attending the conference and therefore needing breakfast at the same time, they handled the crowd very well, with food hot and being filled up promptly. I would highly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    43
    22
    7
    10
See reviews for
31
26
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had stayed at the HIE on September 14th. I have nothing bad to say about my experience. The front desk staff on duty Friday night was a joy to work with and was very helpful. (working the 11-7am shift) The breakfast was excellent and food was very satisfying. I will be staying here again when in Downtown Indianapolis. Thanks for the great hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel met our standards of a Holiday Inn Express. We got a good night sleep, but about 7:00 a.m. each day the street noise woke us up. We stayed on the 4th floor. Wished we were a little higher. Good overall stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Location is directly across the street from Lucas Oil Stadium, but the majority of restaurants and stores are not nearby and would be about a 15-20 minute walk, minimum. The shuttle is helpful.

Breakfast was fine but very, very crowded and poorly arranged. The location of the juice machine needs to be moved, as it was blocked by people making pancakes, using the toaster, getting items from the mini-fridge or serving themselves from the hot food area. There is an entire island area not being used for the breakfast, and rearranging the set-up to utilize that space would have been nice. They ran out of all milk, sausage patties and bagels by 9:30 am (breakfast ended at 10 am) on our first day and a variety of other items on all other days, usually by about 9:30 am.

Parking is adjacent to the hotel, but the lot was full for the length of our stay. We were able to park, for free, in the nearby parking ramp. There is no convenient exit from the ramp to the hotel, making it a bit of a walk, so load and unload your car near the hotel’s entrance when necessary.

Housekeeping did not leave new soap or shampoo on the first day. On the second day the trash cans were emptied but were left in the middle of the floor. At check-in we were given the computer access code on a piece of paper. This paper was thrown away by Housekeeping even though it was left on the nightstand. The internet was painfully slow – the worst of any hotel I’ve ever experienced. None of these were major issues, obviously, but were inconvenient.

Climate control was fine. Hallway noise was typical (could hear the elevator bell from our room, which was three rooms away). There is a restaurant/bar very close to the back of the hotel, but we were not disturbed by the noise, even with the outdoor seating close to our back window and a private party tent set up next to the parking lot. Front desk and breakfast staff were all very nice.

Our biggest issue was that we booked this hotel almost a full year in advance, yet our room type was not available when we checked in at 5 pm. We were told that this was most likely because another guest had chosen to extend his or her stay. Maybe the staff should check the computer to make sure that there is a room available for a guest wishing to change a reservation, rather than changing the room of the person who booked a year in advance (and I had the printed, hotel reservation confirmation with me). Instead of two doubles, we were given a king and sleeper sofa at a $20 discount. This was not $20 per night. This was $20, total, spread out over our entire stay. Had we wanted a king/sleeper combination we would have booked a room at the JW Marriott, SpringHill Suites, Comfort Suites, Staybridge Suites, Omni Severin or Crowne Plaza – all in the same general vicinity for the same general rate we paid at the Holiday Inn Express and all with king/sleeper rooms available. Our room was large, but not what we reserved. The squeaking of the sleeper sofa woke us up throughout the night. The front desk staff person pointed out that our room had a microwave. That would be fine had we needed one. We spend about 10-15 days per year in Indy, but we probably won’t return to this particular hotel. It certainly wasn’t awful, but there are plenty of other options in Indy.

Room Tip: Street noise in front (facing the stadium) or restaurant/bar in back. Both locations are about the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and suggestions, we will look at options to provice a better flow for breakfast and have taken steps to ensure that we have enough items availble for breakfast during the duration of breakfast hours during high demand times. We have shared your comments with the housekeeping department, and this has provided us with an excellent opporunity to emphasize the proper procedures for cleaning occupied rooms.
We apologize for not being able to honor the room type you reserved and agree the situation could have been handled better. We are glad to hear that our staff was nice, and sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered. Please feel free to call me directly at 317-822-6400 to discuss any of these issues. Kelly Tabeling General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We recently stayed there for The Color Run. Excellent location and within walking distance of downtown Indy. Pretty good breakfast included. Unfortunately rates vary depending on events going on, and can get pricey. Rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My family and I stayed here over the 4th of July holiday. After a long, hot day we returned to the hotel and decided to skip the fireworks. Our room overlooked Missouri Street. We had a great view of the fireworks downtown. And what a fantastic show!!

The carpet was a little worn. The pool could use a serious overhaul. Didn't feel like there was enough clorine in the water also there was chipped paint, tiles, etc.

Was worried about the location at first, but it is right across from the Colts stadium and the local police come in and get coffee every morning. We felt very safe.

Room Tip: Get a room on MIssouri Street side to see 4th of July fireworks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear mskimt,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the fireworks display from our convenient location and felt safe with us. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the pool and some aspects of our hotel. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We will address the matters with the respective departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The room was great, very clean and nicely put together. The staff was pleasant, I just would have liked a better location. It was my first time to Indianapolis, and I didn't realize this hotel wasn't really downtown. Thank goodness the hotel had a shuttle or we wouldn't had to drive everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking them time to post your review, we truly appreciate your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and sorry to hear that our location was not satisfactory. We are adjacent to Lucas Oil Stadium home to the Indianapolis Colts and while we are not located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis, we are located in the southwest quandrant of downtown Indianapolis just two city blocks south of the Convention Center. There are many restuarants, museums, and attractions all within walking distance of our hotel. As you mentioned we do offer shuttle transportation anywhere downtown for our guests, who may not want to walk, or who may be visiting during incremental weather. Kelly Tabeling General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre

Address: 410 South Missouri Street, Indianapolis, IN 46225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis City Centre, located in beautiful downtown Indianapolis. Enjoy sensational shopping, exciting nightlife, as well as both professional and amateur sporting events all within walking distance. This downtown Indianapolis hotel is conveniently located off I-70, two blocks south of the Indiana Convention Center and footsteps from the new Lucas Oil Stadium - home of the Indianapolis Colts! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis City Centre offers a fresh decor with inviting rooms which were recently renovated in 2009. Upgrade to a romantic whirlpool room or a spacious suite with kitchenette. This downtown hotel offers affordable meeting space, indoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, Suite Shoppe convenience store, and guest laundry facilities. A complimentary hot Express Start breakfast is available daily featuring signature cinnamon rolls and a rotating menu of hot items. Our attractive guest rooms include free high-speed Internet access and flat panel HDTVs with movie channels. Shuttle service is available in the immediate downtown area for a nominal fee, based on availability. The hotel is located 20 minutes from the Indianapolis International Airport. The 'Green Line' airport shuttle provides inexpensive door to door transportation. Affordable parking available on site. Enjoy our 100% Smoke Free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre Hotel Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.