We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room.... Not so good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   410 South Missouri Street, Indianapolis, IN 46225 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #63 of 185 hotels in Indianapolis
Johnson City, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great room.... Not so good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The room was great, very clean and nicely put together. The staff was pleasant, I just would have liked a better location. It was my first time to Indianapolis, and I didn't realize this hotel wasn't really downtown. Thank goodness the hotel had a shuttle or we wouldn't had to drive everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking them time to post your review, we truly appreciate your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and sorry to hear that our location was not satisfactory. We are adjacent to Lucas Oil Stadium home to the Indianapolis Colts and while we are not located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis, we are located in the southwest quandrant of downtown Indianapolis just two city blocks south of the Convention Center. There are many restuarants, museums, and attractions all within walking distance of our hotel. As you mentioned we do offer shuttle transportation anywhere downtown for our guests, who may not want to walk, or who may be visiting during incremental weather. Kelly Tabeling General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    39
    14
    7
    10
See reviews for
24
25
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yellowstone, Montana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable, the continental breakfast great... Perfect for traveling on a budget. :) Has a decent exercise room and pool area too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

First they got our room type wrong. Credit to them to for giving us a free $10 upgrade but the sofa bed was uncomfortable and dangerous for our under 5 year olds. We choose hotels for the pools and needed a shower to feel clean after this disgusting experience. My wife had to point out the dead cockroaches and moldy bread to the staff at breakfast. In all our $100+ hotel experience from St Louis to Maine has been disappointing but thus far this place stands out as the loser.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, but if you must try it; Get a room well away from the elevators and ice machines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Please accept our sincere apology for the problems you enountered during your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. The management and staff take pride in providing our guests with excellent customer service, clean and comfortable guest rooms and a safe and clean pool. Based on your feedback we did not fulfill our goal. Please be assured that this is not a normal experience for our guest. We have addressed the cleanliness of the pool and the quality of items served for breakfast with our team. We are held to strict standards with the Board of Health and had no violations on our most recent inspection on June 26th. We take preventative steps regarding pest control at our hotel, just like any home or business we are not exempt from nature. Based on our preventave pest control policy, it is my beleif that the insects you referred to were not cockroaches, but probably a beetle or similiar insect. Nonetheless, it is still very disheartening to have any of our guest encounter any type of insect during their stay. Thank you for your candid feedback, as it gives us the opportunity to improve. Please feel free to contact me directly at 317-822-6400 regading your stay. Sincerely, Kelly Tabeling General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Nice big room, comfortable bed. Good basic breakfast each morning. Close to events at the Convention Center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I've spent my fair share of nights in hotels for work and the staff at this hotel is by far the rudest and least helpful of all.

First off, when I called to make a reservation for me and my coworker the gal I spoke with hung up before I was finished with the second name. Secondly, they are never behind the desk when you need something (often times I would find them outside taking a smoke break while we waited for help). Furthermore, one of the women snapped at me about not having a package behind the front desk until i pulled up the tracking number found out she was the one who signed for it. Turns out they put large packages in a back room. Finally, I left something behind and asked to have them ship it back to me - I sent a shipping label 4 days before they called for FedEx to pick it up.

The one thing I can say about this hotel is that it is in a great location - otherwise don't waste your time unless you want to encounter rude staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear rocky6403,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are glad that you liked the location of our hotel. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I trust we can regain your confidence in the Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre Hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Love the fresh, new look. Clean & spacious rooms. Comfortable beds. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I had an appointment at the Indy VA. Shuttle there and back took care of the parking problem. Close to downtown- walk or shuttle. Staff was friendly and helpfull. Rooms were very clean. My big "3" were more than satisfied- convenient, clean and cheerfull.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east face Lucas Oil stadium and are probably quieter although we did not notice any noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre

Address: 410 South Missouri Street, Indianapolis, IN 46225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis City Centre, located in beautiful downtown Indianapolis. Enjoy sensational shopping, exciting nightlife, as well as both professional and amateur sporting events all within walking distance. This downtown Indianapolis hotel is conveniently located off I-70, two blocks south of the Indiana Convention Center and footsteps from the new Lucas Oil Stadium - home of the Indianapolis Colts! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis City Centre offers a fresh decor with inviting rooms which were recently renovated in 2009. Upgrade to a romantic whirlpool room or a spacious suite with kitchenette. This downtown hotel offers affordable meeting space, indoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, Suite Shoppe convenience store, and guest laundry facilities. A complimentary hot Express Start breakfast is available daily featuring signature cinnamon rolls and a rotating menu of hot items. Our attractive guest rooms include free high-speed Internet access and flat panel HDTVs with movie channels. Shuttle service is available in the immediate downtown area for a nominal fee, based on availability. The hotel is located 20 minutes from the Indianapolis International Airport. The 'Green Line' airport shuttle provides inexpensive door to door transportation. Affordable parking available on site. Enjoy our 100% Smoke Free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre Hotel Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.