We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas time viewing of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site

Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site
1230 North Delaware Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202
317-631-1888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 82 attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Indianapolis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Christmas time viewing of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Character actors meet you at the door during the holiday season. The tree is doecorated with time period decorations, and the fine china is on the table. You get to see the whole house working like it did when the President lived there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camby, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Christmas at Pres. Benjamin Harrison Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Took my 85 yr. old father to the President Benjamin Harrison Home on 12/22/12. The entire house was decorated for Christmas in the Victorian style and looked amazing. Our guide was very informative and did not rush us through the tour. It was nice to see my father enjoy himself and also comment about items that he saw that brought back fond memories of his childhood. Nice way to spend an afternoon.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A must see! Make sure to tour this house at least once and especially during the holidays! It's a great old home and the history is remarkable

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Welcome to General Harrison's Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We learned that even though he could have been referred to as "President" Harrison, he declared that there is only one president at a time, and therefore would be known by the honorific "General" after leaving office. Because this home's furniture and other material stayed in the Harrison family, it was possible to return the furniture and other household items to their original places, especially with the help of old photos of the place. What was originally supposed to have been a half hour tour, our volunteer docent allowed it to stretch to much longer, as my family and I asked lots of questions. (Thanks, JH)
Here is a suggestion for future tours: Because the Harrison Family had so many distinguished members, both before and after Benjamin, a family tree printed out for visitors to see would help visitors to place the various Harrisons. Highly recommended for people interested in Presidential History as well as day-to-day lower case history.
il Gallese

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very informative and a great place for school children to visit. At the time I was there for my daughter's school field trip, the woman who led their group left a lot to be desired. Very bossy with the kids and had no interest in answering any of their questions. Hopefully, by now, the staff has changed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site also viewed

 

Been to Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site to your Saves list