We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful park for hiking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Harrison State Park

Fort Harrison State Park
5753 Glenn Road, Indianapolis, IN 46216
317-591-0904
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 59 Attractions in Indianapolis
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 1700-acre park is chock-full of activities and history, housing a former World War II prisoner-of-war camp. Recreation includes fishing, bicycle trails, walking and jogging trails, horse trail rides and hayrides, picnicking and a nature center. Knowledgeable naturalists answer your questions and offer guided hikes and talks.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful park for hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This park is well-kept and great for trail hiking. Great area for Frisbee and football throwing as well. Pretty little lake to picnic near, too

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“nothing going on”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

the park should have swimming pool to attract people to come.. the weather so hot and less tress. many empty building that can be use for something, waste space.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“A tranquil place to get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I don't make it to many parks. My sister has an annual pass so we went for a walk a couple of times while my family and I were on vacation. Forests surround you. There's a nice little lake to fish in and a separate duck pond on one of the trails. Aside from ducks and geese, we also saw a frog and a couple of baby turtles. The trail we took is paved so its good for walking your dog, running, or biking. There are several playgrounds for young kids. There's also a hill where you can sled down after a good snow. And another road in the park leads you to a horse stable. There's also a golf course adjacent to the park.
Being on an old Army base, the surrounding architecture is really nice too.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice quiet spot to enjoy nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Visited recently, the museum was not open, should put a sign on the posts because its out of the loop and not really necessary to drive over to. There are lots of trails, I walked on one near the Delaware pond. It was great to be in the woods! I wish I had more time. Trails were easy to walk and well maintained. Nice place for a picnic lunch and fun walk with the kids. fishing permitted in the lake as well...

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Cool place to stay especially if you like ghosts.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. It is an old hospital and I swear it feels haunted. When we asked the front desk they said they have had several reports of strange things being seen, heard and felt. We didn't have anything happen but one of my co-workers asked them to change her room because she said she could just feel the ghost in there.
The hotel is pretty, the rooms are large with sitting areas, large baths and they are decorated beautifully.
The front desk staff is awesome! Super friendly and helpful.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Harrison State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Harrison State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Harrison State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.