We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find out what's special about Indiana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana State Museum

Indiana State Museum
650 W. Washington St., Indianapolis, IN 46204
317-232-1637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 198 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore one of Indianapolis' top attractions The Indiana State Museum in White River State Park in downtown Indianapolis is the place to go to uncover Indiana’s secrets. The museum houses exhibits on science, art, culture and history of Indiana from prehistoric times up to the present day. The museum provides stunning views and architecture, making it a great venue for weddings, special events or meetings. Home to the famous L.S. Ayres Tea Room restaurant, the Indiana Store gift shop, and the IMAX Theater, Indiana’s largest movie screen.
Central Indiana
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Find out what's special about Indiana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The museum has very interesting exhibits starting with how the land was formed in ancient times & progressing thru the present times. Displays included local minerals, fossils & bones of mastodons and other ancient creatures, as well as many artifacts & antiques from all the historic eras and information on famous Hoosiers. There is usually several temporary exhibits - this visit they included Lincoln, James Dean, maize & T.C. Steele, an artist. If the weather is nice, be sure to check out the County Walk, sculptures depicting the 92 counties of Indiana on the exterior of the building. The building itself is architecturally interesting and the canal outside adds to the enjoyment. We also ate a nice lunch at the re-created L.S. Ayres Tearoom on the 2nd level. A fun way to spend an afternoon.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    91
    25
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Indiana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Overall a good time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent the day here on a Saturday. We both had a really good time, and thought the museum was a great value, with the IMAX ticket to see Lincoln. All the exhibits were really interesting. I'm not really sure how the exhibits on the 1st floor about the creation if the world tie into Indiana.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

a great variety of exhibits at this museum, the IMAX theater is fantastic.Plenty to see and do for any visitor of any age. Want to go back now to see the mastodon exhibit and new exhibits added since our last visit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend an afternoon...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had the day off, and decided to take in the Museum and IMAX. From the start, the parking is so convenient (and free if you buy IMAX tickets), and the lady at the counter was very helpful (Erica?) I got in free because I teach at a private boarding high school and had two of my students along. It was a weekday and we almost had the place to ourselves. Very interesting and informative. I liked the interactive stuff. I'd go again, because right now they have the Lincoln exhibit and the Lincoln film on big screen at the IMAX.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great for grade schoolers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I took the boys on MLK Day. It was a free day and we got there early. It is a beautiful museum. They are working on some areas. The exhibits are somewhat interactive and would be appropriate for school aged kids, mine are still not old enough to really understand everything. The Maize exhibit with the tractor was a hit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaKath, Public Relations Manager at Indiana State Museum, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
MLK Day is always hugely busy; we're glad you took advantage of a free day to see what the museum is all about. Please come back when Star Wars is here this summer (construction is making way for the Millenium Falcon!), mammoths and mastodons this fall, and of course Santa through the holidays....there's always something new for your and your kiddo to discover :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana State Museum also viewed

 

Been to Indiana State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indiana State Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.