We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Much to Do for One Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana State Museum

Indiana State Museum
650 W. Washington St., Indianapolis, IN 46204
317-232-1637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 82 attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Museums, History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Explore one of Indianapolis' top attractions The Indiana State Museum in White River State Park in downtown Indianapolis is the place to go to uncover Indiana’s secrets. The museum houses exhibits on science, art, culture and history of Indiana from prehistoric times up to the present day. The museum provides stunning views and architecture, making it a great venue for weddings, special events or meetings. Home to the famous L.S. Ayres Tea Room restaurant, the Indiana Store gift shop, and the IMAX Theater, Indiana’s largest movie screen.
Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Too Much to Do for One Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Geared toward education, this state museum begin instruction while you are still outside in the form of art for each country in the state; it took us a few hours to just see that one morning.

We spent an entire day there and perhaps only saw a third of the galleries as well as two of the IMAX films. The inside cafe is a bit pricey, I'd recommend finding another place to eat, but otherwise it was a wonderful museum to visit though you'll need to do it a few times.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaKath, Public Relations Manager at Indiana State Museum, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi TammyJo...the 92 County Walk is our favorite, too. Keep watching our website, as we have a really cool interactive that will give you way more detail on why that image reflects that county, etc. It will be going live soon...done by an IUPUI graduate student for us!
Also of note....the Canal Cafe & Terrace will be updated this spring and you'll be seeing new menues, etc. Come back for Star Wars and try them out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    69
    19
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast with Santa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We go every year! It's a bit "stuffy", but nice. The Santa is "realistic" and the kids love to ride their indoor rollercoaster while they wait in line to sit on Santa's lap.
Wish that there were more reasons to visit this museum during other times as well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaKath, Public Relations Manager at Indiana State Museum, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
So glad you enjoy our Celebration Crossing experience each year. Maybe you should sign up for our monthly newsletter so you can see all the other fun events and exhibits that we offer throughout the year. The link is on the home page of our website.
This year...Star Wars: Where Science Meets Imagination....Pinewood Derby (likely the world's longest, fastest track!)...Indiana's Ice Age Giants: The Mystery of Mammoths and Mastodons...and more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great place to visit and find out about Indiana history.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Beautiful museum in a newish facility. Convenient underground parking at a reasonable price. The museum is spacious, clean, and well laid out. Not being from Indiana, I still enjoyed and recommend the museum. Indiana's contributions to the country and world are extensive. Keep an eye out for special exhibits. Bottom line: part of what to see in downtown Indianapolis.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaKath, Public Relations Manager at Indiana State Museum, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hi! Glad you enjoyed your visit to downtown Indianapolis and found us in White River State Park. I like to say we feature things you never knew you never knew about Indiana :)

Hopefully you'll visit again to see Star Wars or some other exhibit...or visit our online collection database, which you can find on our website under the "About Us" tab at the top.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great vie of Indiana History!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Indiana State Museum is a mixture of interacitve, movies and traditional museum exhibits that give a look in to midwest life in America. It also houses the Tea room restaurant that serves traditional chicken velvet soup!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Watch for family friendly events”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We took our two 7 year olds to visit the State Museum with their grandparents, having been attracted by the events going on for Geo Fest. Geo Fest was a big hit- lots of free activities for the kids, plenty of related items to shop in all price ranges, and so many opportunities to learn throughout the museum, many encomposing the "Geo" theme (fossil hunting, flourescing minerals, etc). The whole family enjoyed the museum, including the 3D Imax (a great way to relax your feet, too!). Include this stop in your Indianapolis museum experiences.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana State Museum also viewed

 

Been to Indiana State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indiana State Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Indiana State Museum to your Saves list