We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast with Santa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana State Museum

Indiana State Museum
650 W. Washington St., Indianapolis, IN 46204
317-232-1637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 59 Attractions in Indianapolis
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore one of Indianapolis' top attractions The Indiana State Museum in White River State Park in downtown Indianapolis is the place to go to uncover Indiana’s secrets. The museum houses exhibits on science, art, culture and history of Indiana from prehistoric times up to the present day. The museum provides stunning views and architecture, making it a great venue for weddings, special events or meetings. Home to the famous L.S. Ayres Tea Room restaurant, the Indiana Store gift shop, and the IMAX Theater, Indiana’s largest movie screen.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast with Santa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We go every year! It's a bit "stuffy", but nice. The Santa is "realistic" and the kids love to ride their indoor rollercoaster while they wait in line to sit on Santa's lap.
Wish that there were more reasons to visit this museum during other times as well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaKath, Public Relations Manager at Indiana State Museum, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
So glad you enjoy our Celebration Crossing experience each year. Maybe you should sign up for our monthly newsletter so you can see all the other fun events and exhibits that we offer throughout the year. The link is on the home page of our website.
This year...Star Wars: Where Science Meets Imagination....Pinewood Derby (likely the world's longest, fastest track!)...Indiana's Ice Age Giants: The Mystery of Mammoths and Mastodons...and more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    75
    23
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great place to visit and find out about Indiana history.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Beautiful museum in a newish facility. Convenient underground parking at a reasonable price. The museum is spacious, clean, and well laid out. Not being from Indiana, I still enjoyed and recommend the museum. Indiana's contributions to the country and world are extensive. Keep an eye out for special exhibits. Bottom line: part of what to see in downtown Indianapolis.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaKath, Public Relations Manager at Indiana State Museum, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hi! Glad you enjoyed your visit to downtown Indianapolis and found us in White River State Park. I like to say we feature things you never knew you never knew about Indiana :)

Hopefully you'll visit again to see Star Wars or some other exhibit...or visit our online collection database, which you can find on our website under the "About Us" tab at the top.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great vie of Indiana History!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Indiana State Museum is a mixture of interacitve, movies and traditional museum exhibits that give a look in to midwest life in America. It also houses the Tea room restaurant that serves traditional chicken velvet soup!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Watch for family friendly events”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We took our two 7 year olds to visit the State Museum with their grandparents, having been attracted by the events going on for Geo Fest. Geo Fest was a big hit- lots of free activities for the kids, plenty of related items to shop in all price ranges, and so many opportunities to learn throughout the museum, many encomposing the "Geo" theme (fossil hunting, flourescing minerals, etc). The whole family enjoyed the museum, including the 3D Imax (a great way to relax your feet, too!). Include this stop in your Indianapolis museum experiences.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for the holidays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I love to go over the holidays to take our family to see Santa, ride the train and see the museum. The exhibits are always good too. This year they had one on Indiana native, James Dean that was wonderful. When it is warm enough to add a canal walk that is even better.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana State Museum also viewed

 

Been to Indiana State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indiana State Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.