We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana State Museum

Indiana State Museum
650 W. Washington St., Indianapolis, IN 46204
317-232-1637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 89 Attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Museums, History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Explore one of Indianapolis' top attractions The Indiana State Museum in White River State Park in downtown Indianapolis is the place to go to uncover Indiana’s secrets. The museum houses exhibits on science, art, culture and history of Indiana from prehistoric times up to the present day. The museum provides stunning views and architecture, making it a great venue for weddings, special events or meetings. Home to the famous L.S. Ayres Tea Room restaurant, the Indiana Store gift shop, and the IMAX Theater, Indiana’s largest movie screen.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is the place to go for older children, so much info about Indiana. Adults will enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the different galleries. The amount of information the children can receive while having a good time is amazing. The Imax being there is a plus.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    73
    23
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Always a fun place to visit especially on a rainy Saturday or a hot July day. Lots to look at not to expensive, and very interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice trip down the history of Indiana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very well done. I enjoyed my visit. I recommend it. Easy parking underneath the building. Very attentive staff. I learned things about Indiana I did not know. Good for the family. There are interactive exhibits.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The museum is a great facility. I took my 9 year old niece and 11 year old nephew - both had a great time. Very nice IMAX theater.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklawn, NJ
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My father and I recently stopped by the Museum while in Indianapolis, and we were both very impressed by a fun museum.

The museum gives an interesting take on the history of Indiana, starting at the very begining, with the Eath itself. The early stages are heavy on geology and archaeology, gradually building through the years and into the era of man. The second floor is a more standard history of the state itself, moving through the colonial era and 19th century and into the Industrial Revolution and finally the cultural history of the 20th century.

Fascinating place. Highly recommended for history buffs.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana State Museum also viewed

 

Been to Indiana State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indiana State Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.