We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holliday Park

Holliday Park
6363 Spring Mill Road, Indianapolis, IN
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 59 Attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Great playground for kids! Beautiful trails anytime of year. Great wide open spaces! Neat nature center...fun for kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great playground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We used to drive down from the north suburbs just to play at this park. Gorgeous grounds for wandering around, especially the ruins. Nice trails by the river as well. Be forewarned - thieves like this place because of all the moms who leave purses in cars. I had mine broken into a few years back. Lock belongings in your trunk or carry them with you...and have fun!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“very unique and pretty hidden treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I just moved to northern Indianapolis, and am discovering there are not a lot of parks right around me like I am used to. I saw on a map that Holliday park was the closest one, so went to check it out. It is close to Broad Ripple, and was hard to find the entrance at first. Once I found it I was pleasantly surprised to see ruins as I was pulling up. They are beautiful, and I was able to get a lot of awesome pictures here. There is also a nice playground, and a cool wooden overlook where you can go out over the trail below. There is a pretty garden with a paved trail that leads into a wooded trail. Also a large nature center. This park has everything I was looking for.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Nice place to hike and walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

lots of trails and a great little river to dip your feet into. A nice ravine makes for interesting scenery and a flower garden at the front. There is even some kind of "old" (I think) ruins there and some old concrete statues that "look" old that were weird but interesting.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A great park in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our family really enjoys coming to Holliday Park. In fact, one of our older grandchildren from out of state calls it THE PARK in Indianapolis based on her experiences visiting over the years. The playground is terrific for all ages. The Nature Center is an interesting spot with some fun activities and a chance to rest from the outside summer heat in a/c and use the restrooms. The gardens are beautiful. The trails are really nice - winding down through the woods and along the river - you would never know you are still in the city. We've brought the kids to play on the playground, eat a picnic lunch then walk through the woods, spread blankets under the trees to rest a bit before playing and hiking some more. During the summer the Friends of Holliday Park host free concerts under the trees outside the Nature Park.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holliday Park also viewed

 

Been to Holliday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holliday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.