We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue. Butler basketball makes it even better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hinkle Fieldhouse

Hinkle Fieldhouse
510 West 49th Street, Indianapolis, IN 46208
(800) 368-6852
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 201 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great venue. Butler basketball makes it even better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a great tradition still functioning old field house. Went for a Butler regular season game. Even the top rows have a pretty good view.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    14
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Legendary Basketball Icon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a basketball junkies must see. Hoosiers comes to life here--and the Butler team has only added to the legend.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Bluffs, Fl
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The Hallowed Grounds of Hoosier Hysteria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

To watch a game of basketball in the confines of Hinkle Fieldhouse at Butler University should be on the bucket list of every serious fan. And the successfull Butler Bulldogs makes it double. There is really no better place to watch the game much less play the game.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

What a place to watch a ballgame. It has a lot of the things that make great memories, but now updated. Butler basketball is great to watch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sistersville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best game ever in Hinkle!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I purchased tickets to the Gonzaga at Butler game as a present for my husband, who is a huge NCAA basketball fan, and who can recite every line from the movie "Hoosiers" (which was partially filmed at Hinkle Fieldhouse). Because of its relatively small size, there doesn't seem to be a bad seat in the house, as far as the view. Our seats were close to the top, and we could see very well. However, our section, as well as many others, are simply wooden bleachers, which became uncomfortable after a while. Little did we know that we would see an "Instant Classic" as one of Butler's players stole the ball and made a game-winning shot at the buzzer. The roar of the crowd and the excitement of seeing thousands of fans rush the floor are unforgettable memories of historic Butler Fieldhouse.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hinkle Fieldhouse also viewed

 

Been to Hinkle Fieldhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hinkle Fieldhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.