We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best game ever in Hinkle!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hinkle Fieldhouse

Hinkle Fieldhouse
510 West 49th Street, Indianapolis, IN 46208
(800) 368-6852
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 85 Attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Sports Complexes
Attraction Details
Sistersville, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best game ever in Hinkle!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I purchased tickets to the Gonzaga at Butler game as a present for my husband, who is a huge NCAA basketball fan, and who can recite every line from the movie "Hoosiers" (which was partially filmed at Hinkle Fieldhouse). Because of its relatively small size, there doesn't seem to be a bad seat in the house, as far as the view. Our seats were close to the top, and we could see very well. However, our section, as well as many others, are simply wooden bleachers, which became uncomfortable after a while. Little did we know that we would see an "Instant Classic" as one of Butler's players stole the ball and made a game-winning shot at the buzzer. The roar of the crowd and the excitement of seeing thousands of fans rush the floor are unforgettable memories of historic Butler Fieldhouse.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hinkle Fieldhouse is a National Sports Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I attended the recent BUTLER BULLDOGS vs Gonzaga game at the Home of the Bulldogs, Hinkle Fieldhouse. The setting was amazing and the outcome much like the movie, HOOSIERS. The venue is 85 years old without a single "amenity" to speak of. Yet, you can see the floor from any seat in the building. The feel is what true basketball is all about. The intimate setting of 10,000 seats seems right when the game begins. Truly, HINKLE FIELDHOUSE is a national treasure. Anyone who has not been to a game there--even if you are not a basketball fan--would benefit from an evening of "Hoosier Hysteria" BUTLER BULLDOG STYLE!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hoosiers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is where the final game of Hoosiers was filmed. We took some guest from Norway there when one lone player was shooting hoops. It was basketball nostalgia at is best. Butler plays there and some Indiana high school tournament games are still played there. Tickets are available for most games.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sports”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a place of great atmosphere for sports and Butler Bulldogs basketball along with March Madness. You can see the court from every seat. A great field house of history.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

What a gem, truly a basketball showplace. In the world of bling and glamour arenas, this place is still a top 5 place to see. Although I didn't get to see a game, I thoroughly enjoyed walking the facility and taking in this historic building. I hope with the renovations that are upcoming, they don't change to much.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hinkle Fieldhouse also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Hinkle Fieldhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hinkle Fieldhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.