We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bru Burger Bar

Bru Burger Bar
410 Massachusetts Avenue, Indianapolis, IN
+1 317-635-4278
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 1,993 restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Opened in Indianapolis, Indiana in December 2011, BRU is an ode to our love... the burger. A second location in Lexington, Kentucky opened on Monday, November 18th, 2013. BRU features gourmet chef burgers as well as veggie, turkey, lamb, and ahi tuna varieties. Fresh salads, sandwiches, fries, onion rings, and hand dipped milkshakes round out our exciting menu. In addition, BRU has over 16 craft beers on draft along with over 40 bottles from around the world. BRU is a member of Cunningham Restaurant Group (CRG). CRG proudly operates restaurants in Indiana, Ohio, and Kentucky including: Charbonos, Stone Creek Dining Company, Boulder Creek Dining Company, Mesh on Mass, and Moerlein Lager House.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Comfort Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It was about 2 PM on a busy Saturday afternoon and we were more than ready for lunch. A hamburger sounded good and we recalled that someone had told us about Bru Burger Bar. We were somewhat apprehensive as we still had places to be that afternoon.

We got lucky!! On arrival we were seated immediately......the last table available.....the restaurant was FULL!!

Our waiter was friendly, courteous and prompt, although we did not tell him we were in a hurry.

You have many types of burgers from which to select. Ours were perfectly cooked and very tasty. And, of course there are choices of onion rings, fries, etc.

They have an extensive wine and beer offering, although, in my opinion, a little pricey.

We will return when we have more time...............good place!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    63
    46
    17
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suffield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Drinks and munches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We did not have a meal here but the drinks were good. We did have wings which were cooked well but I did not care for the sauce. The other people in my party enjoyed them so maybe it is just me. Great bar

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious and Social Neighborhood Stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We parked at the Murat (Jersey Boys...great show)! and walked over hoping to find anything for dinner. Luckily, we found a couple of bar stools! We were educated about the menu by our very friendly new 'neighbors' who were regulars. The burger and sweet potato fries we ordered(homemade ketchup!) were outstanding.

Next time we'll expand into other areas of the menu!

The beer selection is stellar. Service was just as great.

Overall, for a quick bite so close to the Murat, we had a pleasant experience @ BBB.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Yum, yum, yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome. The salads are great, the burgers are fabulous and if you like sweet potato fries- get them. You will probably have to wait for a table on Friday and Saturday nights, but it is worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My 2nd Most Favorite Burger Joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I loved the gourmet selections available and everything was cooked to perfection. If I lived closer to this place, I'd be there more often! High quality ingredients, well seasoned and the restaurant has a nice atmosphere and style. Will be back to sit outside this Spring!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bru Burger Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bru Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bru Burger Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.