We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Indianapolis South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Indianapolis South to your Saves list
Super 8 Indianapolis South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   450 Bixler Road, I-465 Exit 2B, Indianapolis, IN 46227   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Shabby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

It was conveniently located off I 465 for us - we were there for the Brickyard. It wasn't easy to get to, though. We paid $50/night not worth any more than that. When we checked in my husband was told that we were lucky to get that rate - they were asking $120 a night??? I would have been appalled to walk in that place paying $120 for that shabby run down place. As we went back to the hotel last night we found side doors propped open?? As we checked in Friday night, I saw several guests going in a side door each carrying several rifles in covers?? How safe is this hotel? When we got into our room, we found ants!!! I'm not sure what we would have done if they didn't have another room for us. I will say that the desk person was very accommodating when we requested another room. Can't say anything about the breakfast, we didn't eat it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    33
    39
    36
See reviews for
44
22
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The staff was very friendly. We got there at 9:45 with 6 kids, after 10 hours on the road. The pool was supposed to close at 10, but they let the kids swim for an hour. The AC worked great - the rooms were nice and cold. The breakfast was good, too. They had waffles, cereals, juice, coffee, and pastries. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was driving across US and this Super 8 was conveniently located near major Freeway. The rooms were simple and clean. The property was located in a decent area and the price was fair based on the service. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, TX
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Web says renovated in 2010 and shows nice bright King Room with 2 chairs. Our King Room did not look like the web picture. Only 1 chair although picture showed 2. Requested 2nd chair and given an old chair with loose arms. No coffee maker. None was delivered in spite of 2 requests. Timer on microwave was broken - microwave ran whenever it was plugged in. Replacement microwave was old and beat up looking but did work. Knob for temperature control on refrigerator was missing. Burn hole in sheet. Hole in blanket. Entire sink and counter were falling off the wall. At least there were not any bed bugs but suggest you spend your money somewhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms at other hotels are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I have a small group that goes to Indy once a year for a conference. We have stayed at this location 5 times, and for 4 nights each time. This used to be a decent place; although older, it was clean and reasonably priced. However, after April 2012, we won't be using this place anymore. The rooms were very dirty (we had 3 rooms this year); 2 of the rooms didn't have a refrigerator and the 3rd room had a non-working fridge. One bed had blood on the side of the mattress. The towels and washcloths we so old and worn out, they were as rough as sandpaper and some had holes in them. Same with the blankets on the bed. 2 of our bathrooms had mold all over the ceiling and in the showers. Upon arrival, we found old gum stuck to the bathroom floor and feces smeared in front of the toilet. I do like the fact that they use 2 pillowcases on each pillow. Also, there were a couple of times I went to the front desk and the clerk on duty was outside the front door and didn't come in for several minutes. Like I said before, we used this place once a year for 5 years and we've never had problems until now. There are 3 alternate entrances to get to your room. 2 of the 3 are around the back of the hotel in a poorly lit area. Coming back at night was a bit unnerving, as there were no front parking places and several people hanging around the back of the hotel in the dark parking lot. The back doors of the hotel do lock when closed, and can only be opened if you have a key card to a room, but a couple of times, the doors were not completely shut.

Room Tip: Perhaps you shouldn't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Every August my husband and myself come here for our wedding anniversary. We call it our escape place! It has always been a convienent and cozy place to run away for a week. Year after year we have been greeted by friendly staff from the front desk clerks all the way down to the cleaning staff. The location is kind of tucked back behind the busy streets and stays pretty quiet. We enjoy the pool and the on site laundry. There are restraunts that deliver to the room so if you don't want to leave you don't have to!!!! Its GREAT!!!! There has even been a couple years that we brought the kids. Wether its a sweetheart thing or a family afair it is a great place. I give them two thumbs up and would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone for any occaision! :)

Room Tip: I personally like the rooms with the windows facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I spend more time in hotels than I do at home with my job currently. This hotel was just cheap though. The room did smell clean, and housekeeping was doing their job, but the walls had small holes in them and the furniture had signs of wear that made you have to think about all the previous guest who were staying there and just made me feel uncomfortable.

Bathroom
The bathroom towels were thin and hard, the ceiling over the shower was crumbling, and the shower head was covered in calcium build up.

Bed
Overall comfortable but with thin pillows and old pink blanket that needed to be replaced. The headboard was covered in nicks and chips.

Amenities
Fast Internet, fridge and microwave!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Indianapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Indianapolis South

Address: 450 Bixler Road, I-465 Exit 2B, Indianapolis, IN 46227
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Indianapolis South 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Indianapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Indianapolis South Hotel Indianapolis
Super Eight Indianapolis
Indianapolis Super Eight
Indianapolis Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Indianapolis South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.