We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing outside walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garfield Park Conservatory & Sunken Garden

Garfield Park Conservatory & Sunken Garden
2505 Conservatory Drive, Indianapolis, IN 46203
317-327-7183
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 65 Attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Gardens, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing outside walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Garfield Park is a great place for a walk and enjoy the nice landscaping and green spaces. It has a stream running through it with bridges to walk across, as well as a greenhouse with some very nice plant specimens.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So Many Fun Events to Attend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

What an amazing find. In spring the flowers are in full bloom. The fountain area has been renovated. This large park makes me proud to say I live in Indy. In summer and fall my family, friends attend live theater outdoors. In winter we always visit the conservatory with some many different plants, the water system throughout, even the music piped in is to my liking. A hugh plus, as if one was needed, are the model scale trains traveling all around. The price can't be beat. Donations for the conservatory (I think) and minumal for performances. Keep watch in the Indy Star for activities/events.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Being used to the botanical gardens in Milwaukee and St Paul, I came away from Garfield Park disappointed. The conservatory is very small and you are done in about 10 minutes. The outside grounds are just OK. I kept looking for "more", but there just wasn't "more".

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We are Master Gardeners and enjoy the work that has been put into this facility. we enjoy visiting as often as we can.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the drive thru downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited the end of September. The Conservatory is beautiful, lots of lush plants and a cute waterfall and pond at one end with a bench, perfect for taking a short break. When we visited they were having an orchid exhibit with plants you could purchase. The Sunken Garden was disappointing because the fountains were 'being maintained', apparently for the entire season. There was great fall color in the park however so we got good pictures. We plan to go back in the spring to take graduation pictures. One negative, the bathroom, there's only one and it's small and gross. Plan to go before you arrive or wait until after.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garfield Park Conservatory & Sunken Garden also viewed

 

Been to Garfield Park Conservatory & Sunken Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garfield Park Conservatory & Sunken Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.