We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live Music Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Joseph's at the Connoisseur Room

Chef Joseph's at the Connoisseur Room
115 East Ohio Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Formerly Chef Joseph at the Connoisseur Room) (Downtown Indianapolis)
317-600-3577
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chef Joseph's at the Connoisseur Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 2,029 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Cross street: Pennsylvania
Transit: One of the main hubs for the IndyGo Bus service is directly across the street from Chef Joseph's at The Connoisseur Room on the corner of Ohio Street and Pennsylvania Street.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Live Music Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I went to Chef Joseph's with a few friends to see a co-worker perform. I really had no idea what to expect, knowing only that the menu changes every 6 weeks or so. I was very impressed with the decor, feeling as though I'd been transported to New York or Chicago. The menu is creative and everything we ordered was very good. The most surprising item was the spinach and brie soup. I would have never thought to make or order this, but it was very good.

Definitely worth a visit if you're in town or if you're looking for a new place to try. It's an upscale restaurant, so be sure to leave your jeans at home and wear your favorite dressy attire.

*Note: Sarah the bartender was great! If you don't see a drink that interests you, she'll make you one based on your preferences.

If possible, attend on a night that Toni is singing, she covers everything from holiday favorites to 90s alternative with a little adult contemporary in between.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    12
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food, exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were looking for a place with amazing food and an ambiance and Chef Joseph's had both. The limited menu offered interesting options at very reasonable prices which was unexpected. The Mac and Cheese spring rolls for a starter were delicious and I would highly recommend them. Rich and spicy with more than enough flavor, it was a perfect choice for an appetizer. We then had the Chicken Marsala for our main course. The sauce was rich, the chicken was super tender, and the mushrooms were beyond delicious.
What really stood out here, other than the beautiful floor-to-ceiling wine case, was the personal service received from the entire staff. They made us feel welcomed and special and truly invited back for more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Dinner Theater?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The entrees we selected were delicious - eggplant ravioli and the mussels; as well as the special, Midwestern sushi. The special was a filet wrapped in egg roll dough, stuffed with crab and served with a little wasabi. The texture did not agree with all diners at the table, but all agreed the flavor was outstanding. Our server, who was relatively friendly, had to have been the slowest and the most spacey server ever.

We ordered a bottle of Primus, a blend from Chile that for $38 was a steal! Highly recommend this wine while it is in stock. Primus is one of the current wine of the month selections, so get it while you can.

The entertainer, while entertaining, could use a few voice lessons. Loved the song selections - Sinatra and Dean Martin; and the piano player.

The dining room, which is open to bar, is visually appealing and feels very comfortable.

This was my first visit and my sister's second. She thought the first visit was better due to having Juan as her server and the entertainment was, well, more entertaining. It was difficult to have a dinner conversation as the entertainment was performing in the dining room and directly next to diners. My sister did however, find the food was as equally good as her first visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Joseph is a genius!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The atmosphere here is wonderful. Very romantic. And, the food. So creative. The service is fantastic. And, best of all, this all doesn't break the bank. Come to his monthly wine tasting dinners and see how truly creative he is.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Meal all around!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Great food ( duck spicy & tasty, pork awesome, filet special...very special!) loved the resturant interior & live music. Waiter was very attentive and helpful. It was a great experience all around! Would definately go again & again!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Joseph's at the Connoisseur Room also viewed

 

Been to Chef Joseph's at the Connoisseur Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Joseph's at the Connoisseur Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.