We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a great price, absolutely excellent in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Harney House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Indianapolis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Harney House Inn
Save Saved
You added The Harney House Inn to your Saves list
345 North East Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free onsite parking!
Ranked #4 of 21 Indianapolis B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not just a great price, absolutely excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were in town for a conference (our fifth so far this year) and we try to stay in B&Bs whenever possible. Deb was friendly, accommodating and an excellent cook. Her sausage gravy and biscuits rival any I have ever had. I was amazed at the work she and her deceased husband did to save this house and turn it into the beautiful home it is today. When you stay you have to look at the before and after photo album downstairs. The pictures are incredible.

We stayed on the 3rd floor and were very happy with the space, views and airy nature of the rooms, and will recommend Harney House to everyone we know who has an upcoming trip to Indianapolis. We had a great time.

Room Tip: If you want a full kitchen, this place is for you. It is also very sunny and quiet, which is incredi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
13
2
9
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We arrived very late (11pm) on a Thursday evening via taxi. One ring on the front (locked) door and we were met be the owner/proprietor Debra Harney. Small talk was very pleasant as she showed us our way to the third floor penthouse. The room is large with a queen bed, separate living room and full kitchen (range, oven, refrigerator.

The furnishing are modern with antique items sprinkled about the living quarters (two 1940's radios, end tables, cocktail table.

The home has a wonderful history which you may inquire with Debra on all of the details. Debra has maintained a detailed photograph album which documents many of the reconstruction efforts which give the b&b its charm.

Debra will solicit what time in the morning you will be at dinning room for breakfast. We enjoyed scrambled eggs, scones and fresh fruit on Friday morning.

We had a wonderful visit and will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

What a nice spot! Deb was a very nice host, and her granddaughter was adorable. Beautiful home that had been "raised from the dead" in the early 80's and it is terrific. Bed was very comfortable, bath was great, beautiful woodwork. Excellent full breakfast with eggs, bacon, awesome scones, muffins, fruit, coffee and juice. All the way around, outstanding!! We will be back.

Room Tip: The Garden Room has a terrific large jacuzzi tub, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The owner, Deb, was attentive and pleasant. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The room was unbelievably quaint, comfortable, quiet and spacious. The location was perfect, walking distance to everything. There's a supermarket a block away and a main street full of restaurants just two blocks away. Skip the hotel and stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra H, Owner at The Harney House Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
I am so glad you had a "wonderful experience" and enjoyed your room, breakfast and walking downtown while you were here for your conference! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and I hope you get the chance to come and stay with us again soon!

Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed a Saturday night in April and was extremely satisfied with our experience. Deb is an outstanding host and everything exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the Garden Room, very nice with a large spa tub and king size bed with a separate sitting room. We had chosen the Harney House because it was only 2 blocks from the Rathskeller where we had tickets to a concert. The neighborhood is nice with a lot of history. After staying at this fine Bed and Breakfast, this will be our first choice for any future overnight stays in Indy. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Garden Room - very nice with a large spa tub and king size bed with a separate sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra H, Owner at The Harney House Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Garden Room, the Rathskeller and our neighborhood! I truly appreciate you taking the time to write us a review to let us know how you liked your stay! We hope that you will come back and stay again soon!

Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We visited Indy for an event at the Convention Center. Deb is an extremely hospitable host. She goes above and beyond to make her guests comfortable, as is evident by the beautiful breakfast she and her daughter prepare. We had 4 in our party in two rooms and she was very accommodating to our need for 2 separate breakfast times. Parking is a bit tight but is to be expected in such a historical neighborhood.

Room Tip: Top floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra H, Owner at The Harney House Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to write us a review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Inn during your conference and my daughter and I are very glad that you enjoyed your breakfast as well! We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon!

Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Point, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

The Harney House was an excellent choice for our fun filled and romantic weekend. Amenities exceeded expectation, the room was spacious and beautiful and we are STILL talking about the breakfast! It is within walking distance to local pubs and concert venues which made it convenient as well as quaint. Over all well worth the four hour drive!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra H, Owner at The Harney House Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
So glad you were able to enjoy your fun filled and romantic weekend here at the Inn and we are very happy that you enjoyed the breakfast as well! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review...we truly appreciate it! Hope you come back to visit soon!

Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harney House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harney House Inn

Address: 345 North East Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harney House Inn is located in Historic Lockerbie Square in Indianapolis, IN, within walking distance to most downtown attractions, restaurants, shopping and Mass Avenue. Coming to Indy for one night or an extended stay we offer two suites with fully equipped kitchens, living rooms with queen size sleeper sofas, bedrooms with queen size beds and private bath/showers and we have one unit with a bedroom(king size bed), spa tub, private bath/shower, living room with queen size sleeper sofa, mini frig, microwave and coffee maker. All units have color/cable TV and DVD players. For a truly unique experience and an at home feel visit the Garden Room, Riley Room or Louis' Penthouse. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harney House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.