We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAFF” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Castleton Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Magnuson Hotel Castleton Inn to your Saves list
Magnuson Hotel Castleton Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8300 Craig St., Indianapolis, IN 46250 (Castleton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“STAFF”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Thought the lady checking me in was rude for being customer service. The carpets are nasty and the surfaces like the phone in room etc. were not clean at all. It smelled like bad chicken or eggs. would not stay here again. They came in our room even though we didn't ask them too and claimed damage on the carpet which we thought was rude and unprofessional. The breakfast was not very much, they cut the muffin package in half and leave them out to get stale what a waste. no bagels or cream cheese. no yogurt.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    4
    8
    14
See reviews for
4
14
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Dirtest hotel I have ever stayed in. Dirty floors, dead bugs in the corners, scum all over the shower, light bulbs burnt out and the most unfriendliest owners/family operated hotel. It felt unsafe. Definitely other hotels in the area for the same price that are much nicer.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome City, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Magnuson Inn is not in danger of cracking the top ten places to stay in the Indianapolis area, but if you are looking for decent lodging at a great location and a decent price, it's pretty good. I have been staying there on various nights as a family member is in a nearby hospital. Their advertised price of $39.99 for a single is $5 less than the nearby Motel 6 and much lower than the other area properties. Check in has always been friendly and efficient. Their wifi signal has been strong and reliable no matter which room I have been assigned for the night. The cable package is not as extensive as other places I have stayed, but it's more than enough to entertain someone for the night. Each room (so far) has included a mini-fridge and microwave and they also provide shampoo, which I did not receive at the Motel 6. The whole place looks as if it would benefit from an industrial grade carpet cleaner and a floor to ceiling scrubbing, but it's not so bad to discourage me from returning each night. The linen is clean and the king-sized beds have been very comfortable. The breakfast amounts to some pastries, muffins, toast, coffee and a juice dispenser, so there's nothing remarkable going on there. This property is just two or three lights West of I-69 (exit 201) and just North of 82nd Street, which makes it very convenient for mall shopping, Indy activities, or visiting area hospitals. I don't think I could find a better value in the immediate area and I am certain I will be staying there more in the coming nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

First of all, I knew when I made my reservation that this was not a top quality hotel. However, there are many other hotels in this price range that are far better. First, the hotel staff did not direct me to the elevator or my room. The elevator is quite a walk from the front desk and there is no sign pointing you to it. Second, the lighting in the room was horrible. Third, the shower was dirty. Not filthy mind you, but far from clean. Fourth, there was some odd yellow crusty stuff on the alarm clock and one of the chairs in the room. Fifth, the heater/AC unit blew air such that the curtain flew open constantly. Sixth, the "breakfast buffet" is the worst I have ever seen. It included about 10 slices of bread and a toaster, a couple fruit danishes, two types of cereal, and mini-muffins in plastic wrap. The muffins were the funny part because it was clear that they came two in a package but someone had cut the package in half so that each individual muffin was contained in just half of a plastic wrapper. The muffins were then tossed in a giant metal bowl. The muffins were also very cold making me wonder if they were frozen each day after the "buffet" was closed. Juice and coffee were also offered. I had the orange juice but it was oddly not orange in color or flavor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stay on weekly bases for work Service is very prompt and curtious Rooms are clean and spacious. They have always taken care of me if i have ever left personal items behind they always been waiting for me on my return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

hotel has nice location ,and i stayd there for two nights verey nice staff and exclant service ,
nice continetal breakfast ,there is mall near you can walk without car and lots of nice all restorant near hotel you can go without car, i stay for sure second time if i go in indianpolis again verey nice hotel and value price"!!!!!!

Room Tip: i was in room 210
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, IL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

It is a dump. The lobby doesn't look horrible, however the hallway and rooms are another matter. The carpeting in our room was old and needed a good cleaning and the bed was hard as rock. It just looked dingy. We settled in and my husband got a call to come to the desk. When he got there they said his credit card was declined, except we did not give them a credit card. They seemed a ltitle confused over the fact that the room was already paid for. Now back to the room. We soon realized the window (on a first floor room) did not lock and the bar across it was broken. Great. We went to the desk and were given a different room which was much better than the first including the pillow top mattress. Everything including the sheets and towels are just dingy and old. The entire hotel has an old ,unclean smell. I am not sure why any travel site even lists this. I've stayed in much better hotels for a lot less money.

Room Tip: I don't think it exists in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Hotel Castleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Castleton Inn

Address: 8300 Craig St., Indianapolis, IN 46250
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Castleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Castleton Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located near the Indianapolis Convention Center, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis Zoo, Lucas Oil Stadium, University of Indianapolis, White River State Park and Indiana Live! Casino. The Magnuson Hotel Castleton Inn offers guests an outdoor pool, free Continental breakfast served from 6 am to 9 pm, fitness room, free high-speed wireless Internet access, guest laundry, business center, fax/copy service, wakeup service, free parking with room for large vehicles and meeting facilities. Small pets are accepted with additional charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Castleton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnuson Hotel Castleton Indianapolis
Best Western Indianapolis
Indianapolis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel Castleton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.