We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOTHING TO BRAG ABOUT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - Northwest - I-465

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - Northwest - I-465 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - Northwest - I-465
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9370 Waldemar Road, Indianapolis, IN 46268 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #129 of 184 hotels in Indianapolis
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“NOTHING TO BRAG ABOUT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

It was ok for the price, stayed there a week and that was the most I could take anyways, anything longer would have been too much. Breakfast was included and it was non-existant. Even though all I really get is coffee in the morning, they were usually out and not much else there too to eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    17
    9
    20
See reviews for
22
5
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I knew coming in that this was a budget hotel so my expectations were not high. However, I did not expect to feel so unsafe. After checking in I had a guy try to stop the elevator door from closing but was not able to. Because he was not able to get into the elevator he ran up the stairs and was waiting for me when the elevator doors opened. He then proceeded to follow me to my room. When I got to my room he asked if I was staying there alone. I immediately turned around and ran out of the hotel and did not come back until the next morning. When I came back he again was there. I ran into my room and packed up all of my things to leave. There was no way I was going to stay in a place that I felt so unsafe in. Just before I left he slid notes under the door with creepy messages on them. Now I know that this could happen at any place so I am in no way saying it is the hotels fault, but when I tried to talk to management and get someone to help me, no one would. From my experience there was rarely anyone at the front desk. Which also did not make me feel safe or helped. Also, when you try to walk in through the main entrance it is nearly impossible and you have to hold your breath because to area around the entrance was surrounded by people smoking. I literally had to ask them to move.

Room Tip: Go someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Each night there was a crowd that would "hang out" in the parking lot. Did not feel safe.

They apparently had only one luggage cart that seemed to entirely disappear from time to time. Had to carry my luggage, cooler, etc, by hand to my car at checkout. (Seems locals may "borrow" the cart from time to time?) They should buy two more carts. Maybe put a wireless beeper on the cart that the front desk can trigger when the cart is "lost."

No oven for baking. Carpet needed to be cleaned, not just vacuumed.

Will stay at one of the other ESA properties next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This property is average at best. The interior is dated (green carpet, etc.) and the rooms are really showing their age. When we arrived, we had to ask for shampoo, one of the beds was off it's base, and the kitchen was barely stocked with utensils (not to mention there was no soap to wash up any dishes). In the morning, their "breakfast" amounted to coffee, instant oatmeal, and pre-packaged muffins (probably from the nearby Costco) and one morning, there was only coffee and the oatmeal. The location is great so next time, we will select one of the other hotels in that area to stay and wave as we pass by this one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We normally stay at extended stay, and this was by far the best experience ever! The room was great. Very clean, double sinks and a huge oval tub. The staff friendly and the room was a huge value. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - Northwest - I-465, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so very much for your nice review of our property. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. We know you have many lodging options in the area, which is why providing you and every guest with professional, friendly service is our priority.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was very disappointed to be moved here from a related hotel (Homestead Suites, which was highly recommended by a friend) two days before my trip. Calls to the staff and requests to speak to a manager went nowhere. They promised to have manager call back which never happened.

Though I don't mind a budget hotel, the quality level here was below the lowest expectations. The lobby looks nice and deceiving. The hallways smelled funny. Our room had dents in the walls, and couch was stained. I noticed a few ants on the wall. In the morning when we were leaving I found the ants had gotten into my messenger bag and were crawling onto my laptop. This could have fried something had they go inside. The front desk gave the impression they'd had this problem before and sent someone to have them vacuumed, but this didn't take care of all of them (consider some taro traps in the future!). When leaving I told the staff I was unhappy with my stay, but they seemed to have the attitude that they couldn't do anything.

I would not ever stay here again, or book at Homestead Suites, because they might send me here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - Northwest - I-465, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.

We know that we didn’t get to be a member of America’s number one family of extended stay hotels over night; we did it by focusing on one customer at a time. We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise we receive, we still have room to improve.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

What a wonderful staff they have at the ESA but their building rally needs some upgrades. Wilma was great at checkin taking care of a few little problems that we had with some silverware and needing some extra cups. The hallway carpet in the entire building needs to be replaced. It is wrinkled every where and could become a tripping hazard for guest that have a hard time getting around. The interior paint needs updated. When you walk in the colors are vey dull and outdated. All the common areas were very clean and well maintained. Overall this was a great experience and I look forward to traveling to Indy so that I can return to this property.

Room Tip: From listening to guest during breakfast it sounds like the 1st Floor is the place to be
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - Northwest - I-465, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so very much for your nice review of our property. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. We know you have many lodging options in the area, which is why providing you and every guest with professional, friendly service is our priority.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - Northwest - I-465? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - Northwest - I-465

Address: 9370 Waldemar Road, Indianapolis, IN 46268 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 184 hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - Northwest - I-465 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Extended Stay, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - Northwest - I-465 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Indianapolis - Northwest - i-465 Hotel Indianapolis
Extended Stay America Indianapolis
Extended Stay Indianapolis
Indianapolis Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - Northwest - I-465, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.