We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locale for downtown show and dining...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana Repertory Theatre

Indiana Repertory Theatre
140 W. Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3465 (Downtown Indianapolis)
(317) 635-5252
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 196 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great locale for downtown show and dining...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went for a Christmas Carol, and loved the historic theatre in a great downtown location... Would definitely go back. Parking may be tricky, but you usually find street parking, but if it's busy I recommend the Mall parking deck...it's cheap and easy. Great locale

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Super Impressed by A Christmas Carol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

So I finally made it to the IRT's A Christmas Carol production after having seen it advertised for many years. The production quality was above reproach...the staging, lighting, sound were modern in feel yet effective. The acting was A-One. The interpretation of the spirits was fresh, and creepy, at the same time. And yes, I cried. A must see for everyone!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“We go at least once a year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our entire family LOVES live theatre, and the IRT doesn't disappoint. Whether going as a couple per-kids or now as a family, the IRT is not only fun to attend because of the plays, but the building itself is also magical. The souvenir t-shirts are a riot for our kids. They say "Overly Dramatic" on them. Too funny!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Some good productions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a small theater that has some very good productions. We attended a performance of "Dr. Jekyl and Mr. Hyde" that was good. The size of the theater makes the performances intimate. The theatre does a performance of "The Christmas Carol" every year that is fun although I wouldn't go back every year. Check out their schedule and try to attend. Support the arts!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clay city, indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The House That Jack Built”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I went to this play not having any idea what it was about. This was the first time we had gone to a play with no previous knowledge about it. The plot was entertaining and easy to understand. The actors were excellent, and the characters were relatable to everyone in the audience. Jennie and I both laughed out loud at the humor and fought back tears at the thought provoking sentimentality of the theme. It was wonderful.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana Repertory Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Indiana Repertory Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indiana Repertory Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.