We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good productions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana Repertory Theatre

Indiana Repertory Theatre
140 W. Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3465 (Downtown Indianapolis)
(317) 635-5252
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 83 attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Some good productions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a small theater that has some very good productions. We attended a performance of "Dr. Jekyl and Mr. Hyde" that was good. The size of the theater makes the performances intimate. The theatre does a performance of "The Christmas Carol" every year that is fun although I wouldn't go back every year. Check out their schedule and try to attend. Support the arts!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
clay city, indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The House That Jack Built”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I went to this play not having any idea what it was about. This was the first time we had gone to a play with no previous knowledge about it. The plot was entertaining and easy to understand. The actors were excellent, and the characters were relatable to everyone in the audience. Jennie and I both laughed out loud at the humor and fought back tears at the thought provoking sentimentality of the theme. It was wonderful.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Live theater at its best is found right downtown. Acting, stage sets, and lighting done with great professionalism in a beautiful restored theater. Several new plays presented each season. Have enjoyed IRT for dozens of years. A must see for those who enjoy theater presentations.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Indy's Dramatic Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Parking can be a problem, but every time I bisited was with a large bus for a school trip. Cars probably fare better.

I applaud the employees who managed to herd the children in quietly and efficiently. I've seen four different plays here and have been impressed with stage manage, stage craft, acting, and the discussion afterwards.

This is for my students the first brush with the theatre. I am grateful that it is an excellent introduction. Kudos IRT.

It is also close to Circle Center Mall for a qucik lunch too.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“On a whim- worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Went to Indy for a weekend getaway and stumbled upon this historic-style theater while walking around the downtown area. Purchased tickets right then-and-there for a play that evening. Scored 2 tickets in the balcony for $20 each! Well-acted production, building is beautiful, theater was wonderfully-intimate.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana Repertory Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Indiana Repertory Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indiana Repertory Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.