We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cooper's Hawk

Cooper's Hawk
3815 E 96th Street, Indianapolis, IN
+1 317-574-9463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cooper's Hawk is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 2,027 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Keystone and Allisonville Rd.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“First Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We finally made it to Cooper's Hawk last night for dinner. Very glad we gave it a try--it exceeded my expectations for service and food. Amanda was our server, attentive and friendly without being over the top. It was very busy for a Tuesday night, couples, business gatherings, etc. We will definitely go back. The odd thing was all of the merchandise they have between the front door and the seating area. My husband likened it to getting around a Cracker Barrel and I agreed. We are not wine drinkers but absolutely enjoyed the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    35
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Wonderful Option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Cooper's Hawk is a fantastic mix of casual and formal. The ambiance is very tasteful and classy. Yet this is not a restaurant that you need to feel obligated to dress to the 9's in order to dine there. The menu also reflects this mix of dressy and casual offering great burgers and dishes like lamb chops, scallops, and other pricier dishes.

All of this is set in a winery backdrop. Cooper's Hawk has a good number of house labeled wine. Ranging from dry reds to sweet whites, the selection has something for everyone and every dish. Not sure if you will like a particular wine? Ask for a free tasting.

The service is SPECTACULAR and makes for a wonderful dining experience. For those looking for an even more relaxed atmosphere try sitting in the bar area to enjoy the game and a great meal.

Dressed up or down, looking for fancy or more relaxed Cooper's Hawk offers the something for everyone! This is an exceptional dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

First time here. We went for the wine tasting, which by the way is awesome. However, I was expecting a nice meal. Instead we had an incredible meal. Pretzel Bread is incredible as well as the chicken al pastor stuffed mushroom appetizer, ahi tuna, crab cakes, I could go on and on. The meals were equally as impressive and to cap it all off, try the Reese's Ice Cream Cookie. Fantastic!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, IN
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Some of the best appetizers on the planet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I have eaten in the bar area at Cooper's Hawk on a number of occasions- we almost never eat in the dining room anymore because the appetizers are just so yummy! We love the (beef) tenderloin sliders with fried onions and horseradish sauce, the chicken lettuce wraps (which put PF Chang's to shame), the drunken shrimp... about the only thing we didn't like was the calamari because the breading was too thick. They will pour you two tastings of different wines for free, and I highly recommend getting one of the wine flights if you like enjoying more than one kind during your visit. The white wine flight included pinot gris, chardonnay, sauvignon blanc and Cooper's Hawk white (that last one is really one of our favorites).

So, if you don't want a heavy meal or want to share some different things, eating in the Cooper's Hawk bar is the way to go!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The food is amazing and the wine is even better. Do the tasting, it is worth well worth it. One of our best dinging experiences.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooper's Hawk also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Cooper's Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooper's Hawk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.