We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Get a Lot of Amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indy Lakes Campground

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Indianapolis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indy Lakes Campground
Save
You added Indy Lakes Campground to your Saves list
4001 W. Southport Rd., Indianapolis, IN 46217   |  
Hotel amenities
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Get a Lot of Amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The place always is improving its services. Wi-fi that works well, and more importantly fast, a well-stocked bait shop, and new lodges that are really nice, this place definitely focuses on making their clients' experience nice. Sure, the place might not be a place to get crazy at, like it seemed the one reviewer was looking for, but for finding a place to park, it gives so much more. I was just overall impressed by it. Plain and simple.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

enjoyed our stay and would stay there again when in the area. very helpful in many ways

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camby, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We enjoyed our stay and trip. We went to the IMS Museum. This campground provided lots of destinational areas to visit and was very helpful in the office on directions.
At check in we were provided with all their rules and regulations. We have never actually received a list of rules of the campground at other places we have stayed.
Our site was a concrete pad and patio which was really nice. It was also nice to have a lake side view. At night, you could see lanterns lit up around the lakes. It was very quiet and peaceful. We also watched as security walked around the lakes and campground to check tickets and noise levels. They do although enforce all their rules. So we suggest (as we were referenced), to read our waiver we signed. We were able to pick up our satellite signal with no problems. We did use their wi-fi and surprisingly we had no problems with it. All around we really enjoyed our stay and our trip to Indianapolis. They do charge for showers and the facilities were very clean and we did not run out of hot water (major plus). The only bad experience we had was with the flies. So take bug spray.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We pulled into the campsite and realized that it was just a big graveled parking lot. They are not interested in your stay there if you are a camper. My husband and friends were talking to a Man and his mother while the two of them were fishing. (they were there as paid fishing customers). We invited them over to the camper for dinner. They were there just a short time and dinner was not quite ready when the owner came walking over right about 8:00 and told us to turn our radio OFF (it was already low) and said that we were not allowed visitors. We thought that since they were already paying customers of theirs there wwould be no problems. We told them that they were leaving as soon as we were done eating. He was very rude in front of these people and said that they were not supposed to be there that it was in the rules. (they were ALREADY paying customers). Then he said he was going to stand there and wait and the music was to be turned off and no more talking. How is this even close to relaxing and camping? The next day we checked out and on our bill there was an extra fee of $6.00. We asked what this was for and we were told that it was because we had visitors at our campsite! How pathetic and rude can you be. We will never be back there again! The people were very rude and it was just a horrible experience all the way around! We will be letting people know that if they want to be treated like children and go to bed at 8:00 this would be the place to go. It was a very unfreindly atmosphere and the people are very bad proprietors.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndyLakes, Owner at Indy Lakes Campground, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
These guests were rock and rolling at 11 p.m., not 8 p.m. They also had 2 guests that were unreported and unpaid. I, as the owner, personally told them to shut the radio off as it was disturbing those around them, a rule violation. They were quite rude and uncaring of any others around them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indy Lakes Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indy Lakes Campground

Address: 4001 W. Southport Rd., Indianapolis, IN 46217
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Indianapolis
Number of rooms: 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indy Lakes Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.