We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Indianapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Indianapolis to your Saves list
JW Marriott Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 South West Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My family and I stayed at the JW Marriott for an event in downtown Indianapolis. The hotel is overpriced in my opinion. The rooms are around $250.00 a night, and they do not come with a refrigerator in the rooms or a continental breakfast. It's a very basic hotel room. You also have to pay an additional $30.00 a night for parking. There are lots of hotel staff on hand, too many in my opinion, that want to open the door for you, etc. for a tip. It gets to be a little annoying. The hotel used to offer government/military discounts all the time. Now these rooms appear to be limited and are very hard to get. The pool is very small, but the work out room is great. There are other comparable hotels in the area that offer more bang for your buck.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your post and I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations. We are a convention hotel and have been very busy recently and have not been able to offer government rates often.
Regarding refrigerators, currently the JW brand does not have units in their rooms; however, we do have some refrigerators on hand and would be happy to bring one to your room upon request.
I understand your comments about parking and wanted you to know that we are competitive with all the full-service properties downtown.
I am also sorry you felt the staff is only looking for tips because this is not our intent. Our team goes through extensive service training and is executing the JW brand standards of service.
Again, we appreciate your business and hopefully one day you will give us an opportunity to regain your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    301
    104
    32
    22
See reviews for
186
263
34
751
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I travel fairly extensively, this hotel was by far the nicest hotel in the U.S I have ever stayed in. He was attending at conference at the hotel and we happen to live locally but his company still booked rooms for us. Customer service was the best I have ever had at any hotel. The amenities were great. Everyone is accomodating to the point of almost being too much!

Room Tip: High floors are incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, and I'm glad you enjoyed your visit here at the JW Marriott. We hope to welcome you back soon. Phil Ray, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Hosted a business conference with companies from around the country. The Hotel was the highlight of the conference. Very user friendly with lots of breakout space and amenities. Great food, convenient to everything downtown, and a wonderful staff. We will be back next year

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
I'm so glad to see your conference was a success and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back next year...if not before. Phil Ray, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I am here now and I am terribly disappointed. It is 2:26 in the morning and I can't sleep because of a nauseating smell in our room. I called the front desk and they informed me that it was because of the gas company next door. His recommendation is to turn the air conditioning colder but it is already at 66 degrees... He did not hesitate even slightly when I called so this clearly is not an uncommon occurrence.

This may be something that is out of control of the hotel, but certainly every guest should be aware that this exists. For supposedly being the premiere hotel in Indy i would think they would be doing something to fix this.

At any rate I would highly recommend against staying here. I live not far from here the whole reason I booked the room was to get some extra rest before a long day tomorrow. Turns out that was a major mistake.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for your recent post and please accept my sincere apologies for the odor that was in your room. This is not a common occurrence for us. I will follow up with my Director of Engineering to see how we can partner with the city to rectify the issue. I do hope you will give us a chance to regain your confidence. Phil Ray, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Fantastic food. Outstanding customer service, great property. A no-brainer for hosting a business conference. Great values for the money, service staff checked in with us regularly over the course of the conference. Our requests were addressed immediately.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
It was our pleasure to host your conference, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Phil Ray, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynoldsburg, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were there for a cheer competition in January. I do feel sympathetic for those that were there for non-cheer business as cheer people from all over the country kind of took over. But since we were part of it, all was good! Very nice hotel that gives that ooo-la-la feeling when you arrive. Huge lobby area and bar with very ample seating. Though that there was just one bartender working was not a smart staffing choice. But sooner or later, the drinks would come. Also, a nice restuarant to visit that had a lot of seating so the wait was reasonable. Food was really good and so was the service. My daughter visited the pool but we didn't (she's old enough to go alone). The hotel was very clean and well-tended. The elevators were all in working order and were quite timely. The Starbucks that you pass while taking the indoor route to the convention center always had an insane line. The mall was a convenient distraction was nothing more than your typical mall. It wasn't a "destination mall". . The hotel room was generously sized and clean and the beds very comfortable. We didn't venture out because the winter weather was hellacious! The hotel is expensive but at least it's very nice, very clean, well well maintained and very convenient! I'd stay there again if I needed to be in the downtown area. Lastly, be advised that there is a notable cost to park! That had a bit of a "YIKES" factor to it!

Room Tip: Ask if there is a special event going on involving young people. If there is, ask for a room away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your post. I appreciate your feedback and was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry for the issue you had with parking and the surprise with the price. We try to stay competitive with all the full-service properties downtown to make sure it is a fair value. Again, we enjoyed having you with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Phil Ray, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, West Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

high dollar downtown hotel dosen't always mean great visit. room was small and nothing special. extra charges or things that are standard in "normal" hotel. people not friendly unless you are throwing money around. it is a good location and the rooms are cleans. in room coffee is good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, and I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience. I would like to know more about your stay so that we can improve our shortcomings. At your convenience, please give me a call at 317-860-4911. Hopefully one day you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in our service and facility. Phil Ray, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#2 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#14 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,383 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#1 of 184 in Indianapolis
5.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#24 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Address: 10 South West Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at the largest JW Marriott in the world—JW Indy. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the new Marriott Place Indianapolis hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity, Osteria Pronto and Tavern on the Plaza. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.