We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service -- great accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Indianapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Indianapolis to your Saves list
JW Marriott Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 South West Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #6 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northville, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top notch service -- great accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The front office staff were on their top game during cehck-in and anytime I approached the desk. The food in the Executive lounge was fabulous. The food in both restauarants was really good. Attentiveness from the GM all the way down to staff in the lobby was first rate

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Wow...thank you for your great comments, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    271
    93
    28
    19
See reviews for
172
242
34
683
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brecksville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Here for business and the property has afforded a great experience. The gym is awesome- I visited on both mornings before starting my day. From the cardio equipment, the view is nice. The facility is clearly well situated and provides a full experience to include high end cardio and strength training equipment. The breakfast menu at the main restaurant offered an excellent spread with homemade breads and pastry plus an omelet station. And typically- I am not a buffet kind of girl.
The room was pristine and very comfortable. The bed was so comfy- I wanted to stuff it in my luggage! The shower offered three spickets with dial changes- again....awesome. And after returning to my turn down each night- chocolate and chilled water were at the bed side. This is my second stay at this particular property- it was awesome then and did not disappoint this time around either.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your return visit, and for your feedback. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay, and we will be looking forward to your next visit. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Lobby staff always present and attentive. I was here for a convention and from the minute I pulled in the drive I felt service was good. I self parked in the hotel underground parking. Which was easy and convenient. My only complaint was not realizing I needed my key to exit.

Lobby staff attend to you the minute you walk in. Finding someone available to check you in, provide directions, walk you to the elevators and show you how you use your room key to activate elevator.

One day I went out for a run and upon return the valet brought me a cold bottle of water. This is only the second hotel I have been to that has done that. Nice touch.

My room was clean. Catered meals for conference were good. Location near canal and just a few blocks from the mall. I enjoyed staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, and I will speak to my front desk team about explaining how to get in and out of the garage. We hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our one year anniversary. We had dinner at Osteria Pronto, which was delicious! We especially loved the fresh mozzarella. The hotel is near the canal area of downtown and we enjoyed walking on the canal after dinner. The room was modern, clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Overall, great experience here!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Congratulations on your anniversary, and thank you for sharing it with us. We hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a little weekend getaway and loved it. The hotel is connected to most downtown areas via enclosed walkways. If you prefer to stay in, they have great lounge areas and the restaurant served an amazing breakfast. Our room was perfect with amazing views of the city. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your post, and we'll be looking forward to your next visit. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice hotel, excellent staff, very attentive to questions or needs. Clean and well kept. Sports bar food was excellent, the tenderloin was huge and while I thought it looked like too much to eat, because of how wonderful it was, I ate every bite! But I did only eat half the bun. :-) however, the upscale Italian eatery was very disappointing. Mediocre is high praise for the dinner we had. Wish I had eaten in the bar!

Room Tip: Nothing of interest from the view of the room. Mine was a few rooms away from the elevator but I hea...
See more room tips
Green Features: Ability to choose to reuse or launder towels daily helps save the environment.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the JW Marriott, and thank you for your feedback. I was sorry we did not meet your expectations for dinner. If you could give me a call to discuss your experience, I would be grateful. You can reach me at 317-860-4911. Again, we appreciate your patronage, and hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have not been compelled to write a review for some time, even though we have traveled many times over the past several years. However, our recent stay at the JW Marriott in Indianapolis changed that. My wife and I stayed for two nights over Labor Day and had a wonderful experience. We both commented that the fit and finish of the hotel, from the lobby to the restaurant areas to the overall room, easily rivaled our stay last year at the Four Seasons in St. Louis. Front desk staff at check-in could not have been more accommodating or more efficient. I commented, almost as an afterthought when asked the reason for our visit, that part of the reason was for our five year anniversary. No expectations, just an answer to a question. That night, when we were out to dinner, the staff placed a very nice personally addressed card and wonderful chocolate piano/berry creation in our room as a small token of celebration for our anniversary. Needless to say, things only improved from here.

The room, as I said, was very nice, with high quality finishes throughout. The shower even had two body sprays, although neither of us used them, as the water pressure was reduced too much when activated. Bed was comfy and clean, and the view of the city from the 26th floor was fantastic. Fast elevators. Housekeeping was in and out in the morning when we went for breakfast in a flash. Perfect location right in the heart of downtown.

Our 2nd night we came back later in the evening and decided to have some dessert in the lobby area, adjacent to their Italian restaurant. Service was perfect, food was yummy. Our last morning we ate in the hotel restaurant for breakfast. Great meal, great service. This was a nice change from our breakfast out the previous morning at a local restaurant, Cafe Patachou (with excellent Yelp reviews....but this was NOT our experience....but that is another story).

All in all, the hotel and staff were amazing from the moment we arrived. They all deserve to know that their efforts do not go unnoticed. If we had one criticism, and it is small, it would be that the indoor pool was, to be kind, teeny tiny, and almost looked like an over-sized hot tub. It was the one and only thing we encountered that just did not fit. Aside from this one small item, the JW Marriott in Indianapolis was, and is, spectacular!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback, and I'm glad to see you and your wife enjoyed your visit. Be assured that I will share this information with my team. I also appreciate your comments about the pool. Since we were built as a convention hotel, the pool was not the focus compared to some other JW resorts. Again, from all of us here at the JW, we were honored you shared your anniversary with us, and wish you many more happy years together. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Address: 10 South West Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at the largest JW Marriott in the world—JW Indy. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the new Marriott Place Indianapolis hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity, Osteria Pronto and Tavern on the Plaza. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.